Artist As Catalysts

„All artists are alike. They dream of doing something that’s more social, more collaborative, and more real than art.” Dan Graham

Dieser Satz ist die Inspiration und der Katalysator der Ausstellung „Artists as Catalysts“, die zwischen 4. Juli und 8. September 2013 in der Alhóndiga Bilbao zu sehen sein wird. Gemeinsam mit Direktorin Lourdes Fernández, die die Leitung dieser von Philippe Starck renovierten Kulturinstitution inne hat, hat die Ars Electronica Linz GmbH eine Ausstellung erarbeitet, die Projekte zeigt, die über die üblichen Grenzen hinausgreifen wollen, um das Publikum zu inspirieren.

Drei Themenfelder prägen die Ausstellung: Environment and Sustainable Future, Control and Manipulation of our Mediatized World, Find Your Voice and Express Yourself, Themen also, die am Puls der Zeit liegen und nicht nur die Gegenwart, sondern die Zukunft unseres Planeten und unserer Gesellschaft bestimmen.

Dabei fordern die gezeigten Werke unsere Wahrnehmung heraus, stoßen uns vor den Kopf, hinterfragen Begriffe wie Privatsphäre und Öffentlichkeit, Überwachung und Kontrolle, erfassen natürlich und künstliche Prozesse und verarbeiten sie in künstlerische Prozesse, zu denen die Besucherinnen und Besucher der Ausstellung ausdrücklichst eingeladen sind. Die Künstlerinnen und Künstler und ihre Werke wirken als Katalysatoren, die Diskurse entfachen, neue Denkrichtungen schaffen, Türen öffnen Veränderungen und Weiterentwicklungen anstoßen wollen. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, die Konfrontation anzunehmen, selbst weiterzustöbern, nach Antworten, aber auch nach neuen Fragen zu suchen. Die Ausstellung und ihre Kunstwerke sind ein Anfang, der erste Schritt. Express yourself ist nicht nur das Thema der Ausstellung, sondern als Aufforderung zu verstehen.

Zu sehen gibt es insgesamt 12 Stücke von den international renommierten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern Seiko Mikami, Julian Oliver, Daniil Vasiliev, Paolo Cirio, Alessandro Ludovico, Manu Luksch, Matthew Gardiner, Ehu Zarata, Daan van den Berg, Eric Paulos, Cesar Harada and Finnbogi Pétursson, Neuentwicklungen und bekannte Werke. Die Künstlerinnen und Künstler kommen selbst in einer Installation zu Wort, der Diskurs wird also nicht anonym geführt, jede Auseinandersetzung, jede Idee hat ein Gesicht.

Mit dieser Ausstellung wollen wir ganz unterschiedliche Prozesse und Reaktionen zeigen, die von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern als Katalysatoren ausgelöst wurden. Sie sind diese Enzyme, die intellektuellen Proteine unserer Zeit, die wichtige Themen destillieren und Prozesse zeigen, die unsere Wahrnehmung immer wieder aufs Neue hinterfragen.

Die Austellung in der Alhóndiga Bilbao ist von 4. Juli bis 8. September 2013 zu sehen.

Artist As Catalysts

“All artists are alike. They dream of doing something that’s more social, more collaborative, and more real than art.” Dan Graham

This insight inspired “Artists as Catalysts” and shaped the development of this exhibition running from July 4 to September 8, 2013 at Alhóndiga Bilbao. In collaboration with Lourdes Fernández, director of the cultural institution that just underwent a Philippe Starck makeover, Ars Electronica Linz GmbH has assembled a showcase of projects that endeavor to transcend conventional boundaries in an effort to inspire those who behold them.

The exhibition is subdivided into three themes—Environment and Sustainable Future, Control and Manipulation of our Mediatized World, and Find Your Voice and Express Yourself—and thus, issues of pressing current relevance and matters that will also be of central importance to the future of our planet and our society.

The works on display here challenge our perceptions, affront and surprise us, call into question concepts like the private and public spheres, surveillance and control, subsume natural and artificial processes, and configure them into artistic processes in which installation visitors are expressly called upon to participate. The artists and their works function as catalysts that aim to trigger discourses, bring out new ways of considering things, open channels, and launch innovative upgrades and enhancements. Audience members are cordially invited to engage in this confrontation, to actively scrutinize these issues, to seek answers as well as new questions. The exhibition and the works of art that comprise it constitute a start, the first step. “Express yourself” isn’t just the theme of this exhibition; it’s to be taken literally as a call to action.

On display are 12 works by internationally acclaimed artists: Seiko Mikami, Julian Oliver, Daniil Vasiliev, Paolo Cirio, Alessandro Ludovico, Manu Luksch, Matthew Gardiner, Ehu Zarata, Daan van den Berg, Eric Paulos, Cesar Harada and Finnbogi Pétursson. Some of these pieces have already been creating a stir in the art world; others are brand new. In these installations, the artists themselves have their say. Thus, the discourse isn’t conducted anonymously; every encounter, every idea has a face.

The point of this exhibition is to showcase the highly diverse modes in which artists function as catalysts and the reactions they trigger thereby. Artists are these enzymes, the intellectual proteins of our time. They distill essential themes and reveal processes that challenge our perceptions in new and interesting ways.

The exhibition at Alhóndiga Bilbao runs from July 4 to September 8, 2013.