HUMAN FACTOR | Artists

bcl BCL / Georg Tremmel (AT/JP), Shiho Fukuhara (JP): BCL is an Artistic Research Framework founded by Georg Tremmel (AT) and Shiho Fukuhara (JP) in 2005 to explore the relations, congruences and différances of biological and cultural codecs through artistic interventions and social research. Shiho received a BA(Hons) in Fine Art from Central St Martins College of Art and Design in London and continued her studies with an MA in Interaction Design at the Royal College of Art. Georg studied Visual Media Art (Visuelle Mediengestaltung) at the University for Applied Art in Vienna with Peter Weibel and Karel Dudesek and Interaction Design at the RCA.
biomason bioMASON Inc. (US): Founder and CEO Ginger Krieg Dosier started bioMASON, Inc. in 2012, inspired by a study of coral structure (a very hard cementitious material created by nature in ambient sea temperatures with low energy and material inputs) and driven by the belief that there is a better solution for reducing CO2 emissions generated by global masonry manufacturing. bioMASON has developed a technology using microorganisms to grow biocement based construction materials. The company’s proprietary manufacturing process and materials make it possible to manufacture on-site in ambient temperatures using locally available supplies, without using fuel to fire the material. The strength of biocement materials is comparable to traditional masonry and can be used as a green alternative.
boschung Daniel Boschung (DE) focuses as an artist on human-machine interaction and the transition from the analog to the digital age. In the project for which he is best known, “Face Cartography,” he explores how people react to portraits rendered by industrial robots. His life performance “The Past is faster than You” visualizes the pace and quantity of the flow of digital information. His interactive installation “Ways to Fortune” is an animated depiction of the personal, individual dialog between bank customers and their advisors. “Moving Universe” is an installation about globalization. Before starting his career as an artist, Daniel Boschung worked as a commercial photographer and photojournalist. His images have been published in Bilanz, Manager Magazine and Geo-Saison, among others. Many of his photographed advertising campaigns have been singled out for recognition with multiple awards, both domestic and international.
burtonnitta Burton Nitta (UK/JP): Based in London, Burton Nitta is an interdisciplinary art & design studio, run by Michael Burton and Michiko Nitta, collaborating with science and technology to investigate our future world and human evolution. Previous works such as After Agri, Algaculture, The Algae Opera, The Republic of Salivation and The Instruments of the Afterlife are published and exhibited internationally from MoMA, New York to the V&A Museum, London.
. Nicolas Deveaux (FR): An author and director of animation films (CGI and 3D), Nicolas Deveaux has a very personal universe around two passions: the image and the animal world. In 2003, just graduated from the Supinfocom School of Computer Graphics, he directed his first professional short film 7tonnes2, featuring a realistic elephant trampoline champion. The success of this (selected in various international festivals, including the famous Annecy festival in France) allowed him to carry out many projects ranging from documentaries (Sea Rex, Imax 3D, The Lazy Giant, documentary TV), advertising (Kinder, Okay Lotus, Lipton, SuperCroix etc.), through the theme-park films (City of the Sea in Biarritz, EANA in Normandy etc.). Already confirmed in a realist style, at the same time he developed graphic and poetic writing inspired by old graphic prints and lithographs, always with a view to showing the best of nature . . . from animals to plants.
dillion Teresa Dillon (IE), Naomi Griffin-Murtagh (IE), Claire Dempsey (IE), Aisling McCrudden (IE): Opimilk was developed by Naomi Griffin-Murtagh, Claire Dempsey & Aisling McCrudden under the supervision of Dr. Teresa Dillon and the Science Gallery team. Naomi Griffin-Murtagh graduated in 2013 from the National College of Art and Design, Ireland (NCAD), in industrial design. Claire Dempsey and Ailsing McCrudden are studying at Trinity College Dubln. Claire is in her fourth year reading Immunology and Aisling is studying Human Health and Disease. Over 12-weeks the team co-developed the prooject as part of the ITL course module. Opimilk provides a clear illustration of how synthetic biology could be applied to provide a smarter alternative for the treatment of chronic pain. The project explores how we can harness naturally occuring substances in the human body for wider health benefits and addresses our attitudes such treatments, while also highlighting issues around the ethical development of transgenic animals.
ervinck Nick Ervinck (BE) explores the boundaries between various media, fostering a cross-pollination between the digital and the physical. Studio Nick Ervinck applies tools and techniques from new media, in order to explore the aesthetic potential of sculpture, 3D prints, animation, installation, architecture and design. Ervinck’s work, in short, oscillates between the static and the dynamic, prospecting new virtual or utopian territories.
inapro The IGB–Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (DE) is Germany’s largest research facility specializing in domestic freshwater ecosystems. We compile basic scientific data and insights for the sustainable management and utilization of bodies of water in Germany, train young scientists, and advise government agencies, the private sector and the general public on matters of water management. In addition to divisions conducting research on specific disciplines within this scientific field, the IGB’s activities are focused on three transdisciplinary programs: Freshwater biodiversity, Freshwater boundaries, and Interactions between humans and freshwater ecosystems. The long-term monitoring program at Lakes Stechlin and Müggel and on the Spree River is unique in Germany and pivotal for research on the consequences of climate change.
ied Istituto Europeo di Design – IED (IT): Cesare Griffa (Master coordinator) with Mohamed Awaty, Victória Calil Barriatto, Anirudh Datta, Giulia Del Din, Samuel Fiolis, Riccardo Rigo (students). The Master in Smart Buildings and Sustainable Design at Istituto Europeo di Design in Turin is a one year studio based program. Sustainability is addressed in terms of Design strategies that optimize environmental, energy and social behaviors of the urban built environment. Smart buildings involve embedded interactive web technology in order to make architecture aware of its surrounding environment and capable of virtuous reactions. The Master is lead by Cesare Griffa, whose work uses the most advanced digital tools, and algal bio-tech to explore possible new applications in sustainable architecture and design. The 2016 students are: Mohamed Awaty (Libya), Victória Calil Barriatto (Brasil), Anirudh Datta (India), Giulia Del Din (Italy), Samuel Fiolis (Italy), Riccardo Rigo (Italy).
certainmeasures CERTAIN MEASURES (DE/US): Certain Measures is an office for design science. We bring objective clarity to space, building, and city design problems using data, geometry, mathematics, and new technologies. Drawing on deep training and expertise in both design and technology, we build software and hardware to bring novel projects to life, tapping open-source tools and embracing flexible collaboration with other designers and experts. We draw on diverse backgrounds in architecture, robotics, computer science, and mathematics to simplify beautiful complexity and to understand, enrich, and transform the human experience of space. Imagination X Evidence, Design X Science: CERTAIN MEASURES.
melchiorri Julian Melchiorri (UK/IT) is a British/Italian design engineer and innovator based in London. Internationally known for his visionary artificial leaf projects, he propose radical environmental solutions for the urban and industrial environment using novel photosynthetic devices he developed through intense laboratory experimentation. His works, located between design and science, explores new scenarios and opportunities through innovative experimentations of materials, mechanisms and interactions between people, products and our surrounding environment.
Agnes Meyer-Brandis Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE) is at the experimental edge of art and science with her work in both sculpture and new media art. Exhibited worldwide, it is exploring the zone between fact and fiction.
morone Jennifer Lyn Morone (US) is a multimedia and multidisciplinary artist and pro-ethical designer. She holds a BFA in sculpture from SUNY Purchase and the Pratt Institute, New York and a MA in Design Interactions from the Royal College of Art, London. In 2014, Morone incorporated her identity as a protest to growing state surveillance and the commodification of personal data by founding Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc. Her work has appeared in the Economist, Wired, WMMNA, the Guardian, BBC World News, and the Observer and has been exhibited internationally at the Reverse Gallery, EMAF, Carroll/Fletcher, HEK, Noorderlicht, ZKM, SMBA, and transmediale among others. She currently lives and works between the USA, UK and Germany.
munro Gavin Munro (UK) was born in 1975 in the United Kingdom. His love of nature began early, but developed while he spent long periods immobile following corrective surgery on his spine. Gavin’s art instincts were always strong, but were developed further during his time at Art College and Design School, supplemented by a cabinet-making apprenticeship, work as an Eco-Builder and gardening in the USA. On his return to the UK in 2005, he began his Grown Furniture project on land borrowed from friends.
nolte Tobias Nolte (DE) is a co-founder of Certain Measures. Prior to founding his own practice, he was a Director at Gehry Technologies in New York where he lead a team of architects and designers in the implementation of parametric and computational methods in design and construction. He was previously a director at the Europe office of Gehry Technologies in Paris where he has worked with a variety of leading international design firms including Gehry Partners, Zaha Hadid Architects, Snohetta, UNStudio, Coop Himmelb(l)au and several others. Prior to Gehry Technologies he was a research fellow at Harvard Graduate School of Design and worked for Preston Scott Cohen, Inc. He has taught courses on digital design at Ecole Speciale d’Architecture in Paris and Universität für angewandte Kunst in Vienna and has been a design critic at Harvard GSD, MIT, CITA and others. He studied in Berlin and Los Angeles and holds an Engineering Diplom in Architecture from the University of Technologies in Berlin.
papadopoulou Dafni Papadopoulou (GR) is an Architect based in Athens. She has collaborated with different architecture studios in Barcelona and Athens and has been awarded in various architectural competitions. Her fields of interest are focused on the interaction between body techniques, space and urban condition. She has been experimenting on algorithmic design, interaction technologies and electronic textiles.
psarra Afroditi Psarra (GR), PhD is a media artist working in the field of e-textiles, DIY electronics and creative coding. She holds a PhD on Cyberpunk and New Media Art focusing on merge of science fiction ideas with digital practices. She has been an intern at Disney Research Zurich and her work has been presented at numerous exhibitions throughout Europe. She is currently based in Athens, but will soon join the Center for Digital Arts and Experimental Media at the University of Washington in Seattle, US.
quayola Quayola (IT) is a visual artist based in London. He investigates dialogues and the unpredictable collisions, tensions and equilibriums between the real and artificial, the figurative and abstract, the old and new. His work explores photography, geometry, time-based digital sculptures and immersive audiovisual installations and performances. Quayola’s work has been exhibited at the Venice Biennale; Victoria & Albert Museum, London; British Film Institute, London; Park Ave Armory, New York; Bozar, Brussels; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Cité de la Musique, Paris; Palais des Beaux Arts, Lille; MNAC, Barcelona; National Art Center, Tokyo; UCCA, Beijing; Paco Das Artes, Sao Paulo; Triennale, Milan; Grand Theatre, Bordeaux; Ars Electronica, Linz; Elektra Festival, Montreal and Sonar Festival, Barcelona;
tonski Jacob Tonski (US) holds an MFA from the Design | Media Arts department at UCLA. He studied computer science at Brown University and worked as a Technical Director at Pixar Animation Studios. He has spoken at the Haystack Mountain School of Craft and The School for Poetic Computation. Recipient of an Ars Electronica 2014 Award of Distinction, he was awarded a 2013 Sustainable Arts Foundation grant and was a 2010 fellow at the Carnegie Mellon University Studio for Creative Inquiry. He is currently an assistant professor in the Art and Technology Studies Department at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. His creative work has been exhibited in China, in Brazil, and throughout Europe and the United States.
tresset Patrick Tresset (FR/UK) is an artist who develops theatrical installations with robotic agents as actors. Tresset’s installations use computational systems that introduce artistic, expressive and obsessive aspects to robots’ behaviour. These systems are influenced by research into human behaviour, in particular how artists make marks that depict, how humans perceive artworks. Tresset also develops robots and computational systems to produce series of drawings, paintings and animations. Tresset’s work has been exhibited in association with major museums such as The Pompidou Center (Paris), Tate Modern (London), Museum of Israel (Jerusalem), Victoria & Albert Museum (London), MMCA (Seoul), BOZAR (Brussels), Prada Foundation (Milan) and at events such as Ars Electronica, Update_5, WRO2015, BIAN.
uh513 uh513 / María Castellanos (ES), Alberto Valverde (ES) collectively started their work in 2009. María Castellanos has a degree and a doctorate in Fine Arts from the University of Vigo, Spain. In her work, she investigates the body, specifically the perception and sensory deficiencies of human beings. She focuses on the hybridizations between cyborgs and wearables as a paradigm for the expansion of human sensory capabilities. Alberto Valverde, artist and technologist. With a lot of experience in system design, creating interactive environments, multimedia spectacles, web design and robotics. He has also taught courses on multimedia to Fine Arts students at the University of Vigo, Spain. In his work, he investigates chaos as a form of order.
unknownfields Unknown Fields Division (UK/AU) is a nomadic design research studio directed by Kate Davies and Liam Young. They venture out on expeditions to the ends of the earth to bear witness to alternative worlds, alien landscapes, industrial ecologies and precarious wilderness. These distant landscapes?the iconic and the ignored, the excavated, irradiated and the pristine, are embedded in global systems that connect them in surprising and complicated ways to our everyday lives. In such a landscape of interwoven narratives, the studio uses film and animation to chronicle this network of hidden stories and re-imagine the complex and contradictory realities of the present as a site of strange and extraordinary futures
witt Andrew Witt (US) is a co-founder of Certain Measures and an Assistant Professor in Practice in Architecture at Harvard University, where he teaches on geometry and digital design. He was previously Director of Research at Gehry Technologies, where he developed prototypes for new software design tools such as GTeam (now Trimble Connect, acquired by Trimble in 2014), and a director at GT’s Paris, France office, where he solved complex geometric challenges for clients including Gehry Partners, Ateliers Jean Nouvel, UN Studio, and Coop Himmelb(l)au. While in school he worked as a researcher at IBM Research, where he patented new collaboration technologies. Trained as both an architect and mathematician, he has published and lectured widely, including at Yale, Princeton, MIT, Stanford, UCLA, UCLA, ETH, and EPFL. He received an M.Arch (with distinction, AIA medal) and an M.Des (History and Theory, with distinction) from Harvard GSD.
yqp YQP (US/DE) is an artist collective consisting of Maximilian Hoch, Florian Dohmann and Manuel Urbanke from NY & Berlin. With projects like “Datenmarkt”, “Schwarzmarkt” and “Unfinished” the group reflects on topics of our time and blends technology with interactive storytelling. Their interactive art experiments have been featured in the press all over Germany and sparked discussion on digital privacy, the value of labour and artificial intelligence.

HUMAN FACTOR | Artists

bcl BCL / Georg Tremmel (AT/JP), Shiho Fukuhara (JP): BCL ist ein von Georg Tremmel (AT) und Shiho Fukuhara (JP) 2005 gegründetes künstlerisches Forschungsrahmenprogramm zur Untersuchung der Relationen, Kongruenzen und Differenzen biologischer und kultureller Codes mittels künstlerischer Interventionen und sozialer Forschung. Shiho Fukuhara schloss ihr Kunststudium am St. Martins College of Art and Design in London mit einem B.A. und den Studiengang Interaction Design am Royal College of Art mit einem M.A. ab. Georg Tremmel studierte Visuelle Mediengestaltung an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien bei Peter Weibel und Karel Dudesek sowie Interaction Design am Royal College of Art (RCA).
biomason bioMASON, Inc. (US): CEO Ginger Krieg Dosier gründete 2012 das Unternehmen bioMASON. Inspiriert dazu wurde sie durch die Beobachtung von Korallen (eines sehr harten, zementartigen Materials, das die Natur bei optimaler Umgebungstemperatur mit niedrigem Energie- und Materialbedarf herstellt), motiviert durch die Überzeugung, dass es eine Lösung für die Reduktion der durch die globale Baustoffindustrie erzeugten CO2-Emissionen gibt. bioMason entwickelte eine Technologie, bei der Mikroorganismen eingesetzt werden, um Baumaterialien auf Basis von Biozement im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes wachsen zu lassen. Die firmeneigenen Herstellungsprozesse und -materialien des Unternehmens ermöglichen eine Produktion vor Ort bei Umgebungstemperaturen unter Verwendung örtlich verfügbarer Rohstoffe und ohne Einsatz von Brennstoffen zur Härtung des Materials. Das Biozementmaterial, dessen Stärke mit herkömmlichen Bausteinen vergleichbar ist, bietet sich als grüne Alternative zu Ziegeln an.
boschung Daniel Boschung (DE) beschäftigt sich als Künstler mit den Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und Maschinen und den Veränderungen vom analogen in das digitale Zeitalter. Bei seinem Hauptprojekt „Face Cartography“ untersucht er, wie Menschen auf von Industrierobotern gemachte Porträts reagieren. Mit der Life-Performance „The Past is faster than you“ visualisiert er das Tempo und die Menge des digitalen Informationsflusses. Mit der interaktiven Installation „Ways to Fortune“ animiert er den persönlichen und idividuellen Dialog zwischen Bankkunden und deren Beratern. „Moving Univers“ ist eine Installation, bei der die Globalisierung thematisiert wird. Vor seiner Laufbahn als Künstler arbeitete er als Werbe- und Reportagefotograf. Seine Bilder sind unter anderem im Wirschaftsmagazin Bilanz, Manager Magazin und in Geo-Saison erschienen. Viele seiner fotografierten Werbekampagnen wurden mehrfach und international ausgezeichnet.
burtonnitta Burton Nitta (UK/JP)Burton Nitta ist ein interdisziplinäres Kunst & Design-Studio in London, das von Michael Burton und Michiko Nitta geführt wird und unter Einbeziehung von Wissenschaft und Technologie die Welt der Zukunft und die Entwicklung der Menschheit erforscht. Arbeiten wie After Agri, Algaculture, The Algae Opera, The Republic of Salivation und The Instruments of the Afterlife wurden international publiziert und präsentiert, etwa im MoMA, New York, oder im Victoria and Albert Museum, London.
. Nicolas Deveaux (FR) ist Autor und Regisseur von Animationsfilmen (CGI und 3-D). Nicolas Deveaux hat sich ein sehr persönliches Universum um seine zwei Leidenschaften aufgebaut: Das Bild und die Tierwelt. 2003 absolvierte er die Supinfocom School of Computer Graphics, um daran anschließend seinen ersten professionellen Kurzfilm 7tonnes2 zu produzieren, der einen realistischen Elefanten als Trampolinchampion darstellt. Dieser Erfolg (präsentiert in verschiedenen internationalen Festivals wie dem bekannten Annecy-Festival in Frankreich) ermöglichte es ihm, weitere Projekte durchzuführen – von Dokumentationen (Sea Rex, Imax 3D, The Lazy Giant, TV-Dokumentation), Werbungen (Kinder, Okay Lotus, Lipton, SuperCroix etc.), bis hin zu Themenpark-Filmen (City of the Sea in Biarritz, EANA in der Normandie, usw.). Während er seinen realistischen Zugang professionalisierte, entwickelte er gleichzeitig Grafiken und poetische Texte, inspiriert von alten grafischen Drucken und Litographien – jedoch stets mit dem Blickwinkel, das Beste der Natur zu zeigen… von Tieren bis hin zu Pflanzen.
dillion Teresa Dillon (IE), Naomi Griffin-Murtagh (IE), Claire Dempsey (IE), Aisling McCrudden (IE): Opimilk wurde von Naomi Griffin-Murtagh, Claire Dempsey und Aisling McCrudden in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Teresa Dillon und dem Team der Science Gallery entwickelt. Naomi Griffin-Murtagh schloss 2013 den Studiengang Industriedesign am National College of Art and Design (NCAD) in Irland ab. Claire Dempsey studierte Immunologie und Aisling McCrudden Human Health und Disease am Trinity College Dublin. Das Team entwickelte das Projekt im Rahmen des zwölfwöchigen Kurses „Idea Translation Lab“. Opimilk zeigt Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der synthetischen Biologie auf, die eine sinnvolle Alternative zur Behandlung chronischer Schmerzen darstellen. Das Projekt untersucht, wie man natürlich vorkommende Substanzen im menschlichen Körper auf breiter Basis gesundheitsfördernd nutzen kann, und thematisiert gleichzeitig unsere Einstellung gegenüber solchen Behandlungen sowie ethische Fragen rund um die Entwicklung transgener Tiere.
ervinck Nick Ervinck (BE) erforscht die Grenzen zwischen verschiedenen Medien und strebt danach, Aspekte des Digitalen und Physischen miteinander zu verbinden. Das Studio Nick Ervinck wendet Werkzeuge und Techniken von neuen Medien an, um das ästhetische Potential der Bildhauerei, von 3-D-Drucken, Animationen, Installationen, Architektur und Design zu erkunden. Kurz gesagt, Ervincks Arbeiten schwanken zwischen dem Statischen und Dynamischen, und dem Erkunden von neuen virtuellen oder utopischen Gebieten.
inapro Das Leibniz-Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei (DE) ist das größte Forschungszentrum für Binnengewässer in Deutschland. Es erarbeitet die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für die nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung der Gewässer, bildet den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs aus und berät Politik, Wirtschaft und Öffentlichkeit in Fragen des Gewässermanagements. Neben den disziplinär ausgerichteten Forschungsabteilungen werden am IGB die Forschungskompetenzen in drei abteilungsübergreifenden Programmbereichen gebündelt: Aquatische Biodiversität, Aquatische Grenzzonen und Interaktion Mensch-Gewässerökosystem. Die Langzeitforschung am Stechlin- und Müggelsee sowie an der Spree ist einzigartig für Deutschland und als Grundlage in der Klimafolgenforschung unverzichtbar.
ied Istituto Europeo di Design – IED (IT): Cesare Griffa (Koordinator) mit Mohamed Awaty, Victória Calil Barriatto, Anirudh Datta, Giulia Del Din, Samuel Fiolis, Riccardo Rigo (Studierende). Der Master in Smart Buildings und nachhaltigem Design am Istituto Europeo di Design in Turin ist ein einjähriges Programm. Die Studierenden nähern sich dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit mit Design-Strategien, um die Bereiche des Umweltschutzes, der Energie und des sozialen Verhaltens in den städtischen bebauten Zonen zu optimieren. Intelligente Gebäude sind in interaktive Web-Technologien eingebettet, damit die Architektur ihre Umgebung wahrnehmen und darauf reagieren kann. Das Master-Programm wird geleitet von Cesare Griffa, der die fortschrittlichsten digitalen Werkzeuge und Bio-Technologien nutzt, um neue Anwendungen im Bereich der nachhaltigen Architektur und des Designs zu erkunden. Die Studenten des Jahrgangs 2016 sind: Mohamed Awaty (Libyen), Victória Calil Barriatto (Brasilien), Anirudh Datta (Indien), Giulia Del Din (Italien), Samuel Fiolis (Italien), Riccardo Rigo (Italien).
certainmeasures CERTAIN MEASURES (DE/US) ist ein Büro für Design-Wissenschaft. Wir bringen mithilfe von Daten, Geometrie, Mathematik und neuen Technologien Objektivität und Klarheit in Räume, Gebäude und Designprobleme der Stadt. Aufbauend auf einer profunden Ausbildung und Expertise in Design und Technologie, kreieren wir Soft- und Hardware, um neue Projekte zu initiieren, wobei wir Open-Source-Tools nutzen und flexible Kooperationen mit anderen DesignerInnen und ExpertInnen eingehen. Wir können auf ein breit gefächertes Hintergrundwissen in den Bereichen Architektur, Robotik, Computerwissenschaft und Mathematik zurückgreifen, um Komplexität zu reduzieren und die menschliche Raumerfahrung zu zu bereichern und zu verwandeln. Imagination X Evidence, Design X Science: CERTAIN MEASURES.
melchiorri Julian Melchiorri (UK/IT) ist ein britischer/italienischer Designer, Ingenieur und Innovator aus London. International wurde er vor allem mit seinen visionären Projekten „silk leaf“ und „exhale“ bekannt. Im Rahmen dieser Projekte konzentrierte er sich auf den Einsatz radikaler Lösungen für urbane und industrielle Lebensumwelten durch neue photosynthetische Instrumente, die er selbst im Labor entwickelte. Der Fokus seiner Arbeiten liegt am Schnittpunkt Kunst und Wissenschaft und erforscht neue Szenarien durch innovative Experimente mit Materialien, Funktionsweisen und Interaktionen.
Agnes Meyer-Brandis Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE) bewegt sich in ihren weltweit gezeigten Arbeiten zwischen Bildhauerei und Medienkunst an der Grenze von Kunst und Wissenschaft, wobei sie sich speziell für den Zwischenbereich zwischen Faktum und Fiktion interessiert.
morone Jennifer Lyn Morone (US) ist eine interdisziplinäre Multimediakünstlerin, die sich für ethische Werte einsetzt. Sie absolvierte den Bachelor-Studiengang Bildhauerei am SUNY Purchase and the Pratt Institute, New York, und schloss das Studium Design Interactions am Royal College of Art, London, mit einem Master of Arts ab. Aus Protest gegen die zunehmende staatliche Überwachung und die Vermarktung persönlicher Daten gründete sie 2014 Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc. und machte sich selbst zum Produkt des eigenen Unternehmens. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Zeitschriften wie Economist, Wired, WMMNA, the Guardian, BBC World News, und dem Observer vorgestellt und international in Galerien, Museen und bei Festivals ausgestellt, u.a. Reverse Gallery, EMAF, Carroll/Fletcher, HEK, Noorderlicht, ZKM, SMBA und transmediale. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet sie in den USA, in Großbritannien und Deutschland.
munro Gavin Munro (UK) wurde 1975 in Großbritannien geboren. Die Liebe zur Natur begleitet ihn seit seiner Kindheit und vertiefte sich, als er nach einem chirurgischen Eingriff an der Wirbelsäule lange Zeit zur Bewegungslosigkeit gezwungen war. Seine künstlerische Begabung zeigte sich schon früh und wurde an der Art College and Design School gefördert, daneben besuchte er eine Tischlerlehre und arbeitete als „Öko-Designer” und Gärtner in den USA. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Großbritannien 2005 begann er, auf einen von Freunden zur Verfügung gestellten Grundstück an seinem Projekt „Grown Furniture‟ (selbst wachsende Möbel) zu arbeiten.
nolte Tobias Nolte (DE) ist Mitbegründer des Designbüros Certain Measures. Bevor er sich selbstständig machte, war er Direktor von Gehry Technologies in New York, wo er ein Team von ArchitektInnen und DesignerInnen leitete, das parametrische und computergestützte Methoden in den Bereichen Design und Bau entwickelte. Davor war er Leiter des europäischen Büros von Gehry Technologies in Paris, wo er mit einer Reihe renommierter internationaler Designunternehmen wie Gehry Partners, Zaha Hadid Architects, Snohetta, UNStudio, Coop Himmelb(l)au und vielen anderen zusammenarbeitete. Vor seiner Tätigkeit für Gehry Technologies war er Forschungsassistent an der Harvard Graduate School of Design und arbeitete für Preston Scott Cohen, Inc. Er unterrichtete digitales Design an der École Spéciale d’Architecture in Paris sowie an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien und war als Designkritiker u.a. für die Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD), das MIT sowie das Centre for Information Technology and Architecture (CITA) tätig. Nolte studierte in Berlin und Los Angeles und erwarb ein Diplom in Architektur der Technischen Universität Berlin.
papadopoulou Dafni Papadopoulou (GR) lebt und arbeitet als Architektin in Athen. Sie kooperierte mit diversen Architekturbüros in Barcelona und Athen und gewann Preise bei mehreren Architekturwettbewerben. Ihre Interessensschwerpunkte sind die Interaktion zwischen Körpertechniken sowie die Konditionen im Raum und im urbanen Umfeld. Sie experimentierte mit algorithmischem Design, Interaktionstechnologien und elektronischen Textilien.
psarra Afroditi Psarra (GR) ist eine Medienkünstlerin, die in den Bereichen E-Textilien, DIY-Elektronik und Creative Coding arbeitet. Sie absolvierte die Kunsthochschule in Madrid und konzentrierte sich in ihrer akademischen Forschung auf Cyperpunk und New Media Art mit Schwerpunkt Verschmelzung von Ideen aus der Sciencefiction-Literatur mit digitalen Praktiken. Sie war Praktikantin bei Disney Research Zürich. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bei zahlreichen Ausstellungen in ganz Europa gezeigt. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet sie in Athen, in Kürze übernimmt sie eine Professur am Center for Digital Arts and Experimental Media der University of Washington in Seattle.
quayola Quayola (IT): Der in London lebende bildende Künstler Quayola beschäftigt sich mit den Dialogen und den unvorhersehbaren Kollisionen, Spannungen und Harmonien zwischen dem Realen und dem Artifiziellen, dem Figurativen und dem Abstrakten, dem Alten und dem Neuen. In seinen Arbeiten erforscht er die Möglichkeiten von Fotografie, Geometrie, zeitbasierten digitalen Skulpturen, immersiven audiovisuellen Installationen und Performances.
Quayolas Werke sind in zahlreichen Museen vertreten und wurden bei internationalen Festivals gezeigt, u.a. Biennale von Venedig, Victoria and Albert Museum (London), British Film Institute (London), Park Ave Armory (New York), BOZAR (Brüssel), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Cité de la Musique (Paris), Palais des Beaux Arts (Lille), MNAC (Barcelona), National Art Center (Tokio), UCCA (Beijing), Paço das Artes (São Paulo). Triennale di Milano (Mailand), Grand Théâtre (Bordeaux), Ars Electronica (Linz), Elektra Festival (Montreal) und Festival Sónar (Barcelona).
tonski Jacob Tonski (US) hat einen Mastertitel des Department of Design Media Arts der University of California (UCLA). Er studierte Computerwissenschaft an der Brown University (USA) und arbeitete als technischer Leiter bei den Pixar Animation Studios. Er hielt Vorträge an der Haystack Mountain School of Craft und an der School for Poetic Computation (SFPC). 2014 erhielt er eine Auszeichnung beim Prix Ars Electronica, 2013 das Stipendium der Sustainable Arts Foundation und 2010 war er Stipendiat im Studio for Creative Inquiry der Carnegie Mellon University. Derzeit ist er Juniorprofessor an der Abteilung Art and Technology Studies des School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC). Seine Arbeiten wurden in China, Brasilien sowie in ganz Europa und den USA gezeigt.
tresset Der Künstler Patrick Tresset (FR/UK) entwickelt theatralische Installationen mit Robotern als Akteure. Dabei verwendet er Computersysteme, die künstlerische, expressive und obsessive Aspekte in das Verhalten des Roboters integrieren. Die Systeme basieren auf der Erforschung menschlichen Verhaltens, wobei im Fokus steht, welche Zeichen Menschen setzen, wie sie Personen darstellen oder Kunstwerke wahrnehmen. Tresset entwickelt auch Roboter und Computersysteme, die Zeichnungen, Gemälden und Animationen produzieren. Seine Arbeiten sind in bedeutenden Museen vertreten, u.a. Centre Pompidou (Paris), Tate Modern (London), Museum of Israel (Jerusalem), Victoria and Albert Museum (London), MMCA (Seoul), BOZAR (Brüssel), Prada Foundation (Mailand), und wurden bei Festivals und Events wie der Ars Electronica, Update_5, WRO 2015 und BIAN Montréal präsentiert.
uh513 uh513 / María Castellanos (ES), Alberto Valverde (ES) begannen ihre Zusammenarbeit 2009. Maria Castellanos promovierte an der Fakultät für Bildende Kunst der Universität Vigo, Spanien. In ihrer Arbeit setzt sie sich mit dem Körper, insbesondere mit der Wahrnehmung und sensorischen Defiziten, auseinander. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden dabei Hybridisierungen zwischen Cyborgs und Wearables als Paradigma für die Erweiterung sensorischer Fähigkeiten. Der Künstler und Techniker Alberto Valverde gestaltet interaktive Environments und Multimediaspektakel sowie Webdesign und experimentiert mit Robotik, wobei er auf umfassende Erfahrung im Bereich Systemplanung zurückgreifen kann. Er hielt u.a. auch Lehrveranstaltungen zum Thema Multimedia für KunststudenInnen an der Universität Vigo, Spanien, ab. In seinen Arbeiten untersucht er Chaos als eine andere Form von Ordnung.
unknownfields Unknown Fields Division (UK/AU) ist ein nomadisches Design- und Forschungsstudio, das von Kate Davies und Liam Young geleitet wird. Die beiden unternehmen Expeditionen an das Ende der Welt und machen Bestandsaufnahmen von vergessenen Landschaften, industriellen Ökologien und gefährdeter Wildnis. Diese entlegenen Landschaften – spektakuläre und ignorierte, abgetragene, verstrahlte und unberührte Terrains – sind in globale Systeme eingebettet, die sie auf ebenso überraschende wie komplexe Weise mit unserem Alltag verbinden. Das Studio verwendet die Medien Film und Animation, um in dieser Landschaft miteinander verwobener Narrative ein Netzwerk verborgener Geschichten aufzuspüren und aufzuzeichnen und die komplexen und widersprüchlichen Realitäten der Gegenwart als Orte seltsamer, außergewöhnlicher Zukunftsszenarien neu zu denken.
witt Andrew Witt (US) ist Mitbegründer von Certain Measures und Juniorprofessor für Architektur an der Harvard University, wo er Geometrie und digitales Design unterrichtet. Davor war er Forschungsleiter bei Gehry Technologies und entwickelte Prototypen für neue Softwaredesign-Tools wie etwa GTeam (nach der Übernahme von Gehry Technologies durch Trimble im Jahr 2014 Trimble Connect genannt) sowie Direktor von Gehry Technologies (GT) Paris, der französischen Niederlassung des Unternehmens, wo er komplexe geometrische Lösungen für Partner wie Gehry Partners, Ateliers Jean Nouvel, UN Studio und Coop Himmelb(l)au entwickelte. Während seiner Schulzeit arbeitete er als Forscher bei IBM Research, wo er neue Collaboration-Technologien patentierte. Der ausgebildete Architekt und Mathematiker ist durch zahlreiche Publikationen und Vorträge an renommierten Universitäten und Institutionen bekannt, u.a. Yale, Princeton, MIT, Stanford, UCLA, ETH und EPFL. Er schloss sein Studium an der Harvard Graduate School of Design mit einem M.Arch (mit Auszeichnung, AI-Medaille) und einem Master of Design (Geschichte und Theorie, mit Auszeichnung) ab.
yqp YQP (US/DE) ist ein in New York und Berlin angesiedeltes Künstlerkollektiv, das aus Maximilian Hoch, Florian Dohmann und Manuel Urbanke besteht. Mit Projekten wie „Datenmarkt“, „Schwarzmarkt“ und „Unfinished“ reflektiert die Gruppe Themen unserer Zeit und betrachtet Technologie mit interaktivem Storytelling. Ihre interaktiven Kunstexperimente sind von deutschen Medien aufgegriffen worden und haben Diskussionen über digitale Privatsphäre, den Wert der Arbeit und künstliche Intelligenz angeregt.