HUMAN FACTOR | Projects

Sculpture Factory

Quayola (IT), 2016

A robotic milling machine becomes a sculptor’s apprentice that turns out art in serial production. Sculpture Factory is a contemporary take on Michelangelo’s “non-finito”, and like the uncompleted originals, these works are unfinished too.

Courtesy of Quayola and bitforms gallery. Sculpture Factory is an ongoing project developed with the technical support of DARLab from London Southbank University, QD-Robotics, Kuka and Autodesk Delcam.

www.quayola.com

Sculpture Factory

Photo credit: Quayola

Face Cartography, creating new Identities

Daniel Boschung (CH), 2011-present

How do people perceive images produced by machine? With the help of a robot arm, Daniel Boschung maps faces. 600 macro-images are assembled to form these ultra-high-definition portraits. Due to their sharpness, they come across as irritating and excessively close-up. Perception vacillates between instinct and rationality.

www.danielboschung.com

Face Cartography

Photo credit: Tom Mesic

Environment Dress 2.0

uh513: María Castellanos (ES), Alberto Valverde (ES), 2015

Noise, temperature, air pressure, ultraviolet radiation, carbon monoxide level—we live amidst pollutants and other factors that influence our daily life. Environment Dress 2.0 consists of garments that collect information about the wearer’s immediate surroundings, visualize the data and make them available via app.

Project created thanks to the prize Next Things 2015-Conducta. Joint call of LABoral Centro de Arte and Telefónica I+D

www.uh513.com

Environment Dress 2.0

Photo credit: María Castellanos, Alberto Valverde

The Free Universal Construction Kit

Golan Levin (US), Shawn Sims (US), 2012

This is an array of adapters that enable users to interlock pieces from the 10 most popular toy construction kits. It thus makes possible completely new forms of exchange involving what were previously discrete, closed systems. This encourages the implementation of new ideas as well as a process of reflection about the relationship between human beings and mass culture.

Released by Free Art and Technology (F.A.T.) Lab and Synaptic Lab

fffff.at/free-universal-construction-kit

The Free Universal Construction Kit

Photo credit: Golan Levin and Shawn Sims

Instruments of the Afterlife

Michael Burton (UK), Michiko Nitta (JP), 2015

With the help of plants and genetically engineered bacteria, these (musical) instruments transform toxic substances into valuable materials. Each instrument has been specially developed for a particular soil contaminant. This is a way to clean up zones that have been polluted by industry, warfare or electronic waste. The piece responds to the scientific research, ‘Cleaning Land for Wealth’ (CL4W), funded by the UK’s Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and supported by Creative Outreach Resource Efficiency (CORE) at Loughborough University. The project involves science teams from universities at Birmingham, Cranfield, Edinburgh, Newcastle & Warwick.

www.burtonnitta.co.uk

Instruments of the Afterlife

Photo credit: Lenka Rayn H.

Opimilk

Teresa Dillon (IE), Naomi Griffin-Murtagh (IE), Claire Dempsey (IE) , Aisling McCrudden (IE), 2013

A cow as a living producer of pharmaceuticals? Human saliva contains a substance that relieves pain very effectively. The gene that produces this substance is isolated and then implanted into the fertilized ovum of a dairy cow. The outcome of this pregnancy is a calf that, as an adult cow, gives pain-relieving milk: Opimilk.

Opimilk

Photo credit: Tom Mesic

Common Flowers / Flower Commons

BCL: Georg Tremmel (AT/JP), Shiho Fukuhara (JP), 2008

“Moondust” was the first genetically modified flower to hit the retail market. These blue poppies were purchased by the artists, who then used them to cultivate new flowers that they, in turn, planted in the wild. Thus, this flower is now common property available in the public domain. What has been created is a free space—a sort of floral allmende—is thereby created for them to grow wild and thrive for the benefit of the public at large.

www.bcl.io

Common Flowers

Photo credit: Martin Hieslmair

AGRIEBORZ

Nick Ervinck (BE), 2009-2010

The artist modeled AGRIEBORZ on medical handbooks’ depictions of parts of the human body—muscle groups, nerve networks and the circulatory system. The works thus not only allude to the increasing trend of integrating technology into the human body; they also play with the fascinating possibility of using living tissue as technical material.

www.nickervinck.com

 

Agrieborz

Photo credit: Nick Ervinck

IKRAUSIM

Nick Ervinck (BE), 2009

Inspired by Chinese rock formations, IKRAUSIM resembles a skeleton. A “dead” abstract structure is brought to life by an organic, flowing texture. The work exists as a 2-D printout, a 3-D printout, a digitally animated film and stills from that film. Each medium opens up another perspective.

www.nickervinck.com

Ikrausim

Photo credit: Nick Ervinck

Teacup Tools

Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE), 2014-present

The tea is infused using everything that falls from the sky: leaves, dust, rain. Measuring instruments in and on the teacups emit heat to brew the tea. Information in the tiny clouds of steam rising from the concoction are likewise registered by the measuring equipment. The result is an endless loop, and environmental data thus gathered can be sipped as a cup of tea.

The project was produced in the scope of the “Climate Whirl Project”, a collaboration by the Department of Forest Sciences, the Department of Physics (University of Helsinki) and Capsula. Supported by Kone Foundation and the ResearchRaft for Art and subjective Science.

www.ffur.de

Tea Cup Tools

Photo credit: VG Bildkunst

Human Study #1, 3RNP

Patrick Tresset (FR/UK), 2012-present

The three drawing robots named Paul-XI.a, .b and .c have old school desks for bodies and webcams for eyes. The subjects sitting for portraits are observed both by the robots and by the audience. For the robots, each individual is merely the object of a study; for the audience, they are nothing more than one of four actors in a brief theatrical scene.

www.patricktresset.com

Human Study #1

Photo credit: Patrick Tresset

Balance From Within

Jacob Tonski (US), 2012

A sophisticated mechanism balances a 170-year-old sofa on only one leg. It’s constantly in danger of losing its balance and crashing to the floor. It reacts to externally applied forces by means of internal compensatory maneuvers. In robotics, high priority has been given to development of control systems to maintain and restore equilibrium.

www.jacobtonski.com

Balance from within

Photo credit: Florian Voggeneder

SWITCH

Ars Electronica Futurelab (AT): Hideaki Ogawa, Matthew Gardiner, My Trinh Gardiner, Christopher Lindinger, Emiko Ogawa, Roland Haring, 2010-present

A switch is a simple interface that’s used to jump from one state into another. For SWITCH, two pictures are created—one for ON, one for OFF. A sensor that reacts to motion, sound, brightness or temperature toggles between the two images. Exhibition visitors are cordially invited to give their input to ON/OFF.

www.aec.at/futurelab

SWITCH

Photo credit: rubra

INAPRO Innovative Aquaponics for Professional Application

IGB–Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (DE), 2016

Aquaponics combines the cultivation of fish and plants in a closed cycle. The water the fish live in provides nutrients for the plants; the plants filter the water for the fish. INAPRO makes a nutritional solution available to the plants as required, and returns the collected plant condensate back to the fish cycle.

www.inapro-project.eu

inapro

Photo credit: inapro-project.eu

bioMASON Biocement Masonry

bioMASON (US), 2012-present

Bricks are used in over 80% of all construction projects worldwide. Conventional bricks are made by firing, a process that requires a lot of energy and emits much CO2. In bioMASON, bricks made of sand are hardened with the help of bacteria.

www.biomason.com

biomason

Photo credit: biomason.com

Rare Earthenware

Black stoneware and radioactive mine tailings, Unknown Fields Division (UK/AU), 2015

Rare earths are essential to the production of electronic devices and other technologies. This film traces rare earths’ path back to a radioactive lake. Mud from the lakebed is formed into three vases, whereby each one contains precisely as much toxic material as results from the production of a smartphone, a laptop or a car battery.

Commissioned by The Victoria and Albert Museum Unknown Fields in partnership with the Architectural Association Film and Photography in collaboration with Toby Smith, Ceramics work in collaboration with the London Sculpture Workshop, Animation assistance from Christina Varvia.

www.unknownfieldsdivision.com

Rare Earthenware

Photo credit: Toby Smith / Unknown Fields

“The Culture” series

Afroditi Psarra (GR), Dafni Papadopoulou (GR), 2014-2016

These wearables—computer systems that are attached to the user’s body while they’re in operation—behave like sensitive organisms. They react to their wearer’s actions and physical state with slight movements. They were inspired by clothing and jewelry in the science-fiction novels of Iain M. Banks.

www.afroditipsarra.com

The Culture series

Photo credit: Afroditi Psarra, Dafni Papadopoulou

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc

Jennifer Lyn Morone (US), 2014-present

The natural person named Jennifer Lyn Morone markets herself as a registered corporation, Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc. that exploits and sells past experiences and current potential (genes, work, creativity, blood, sweat and tears), future potential, and all data yielded by her quantified life.

www.jenniferlynmorone.com

Jennifer Lyn Morone

Photo credit: Jennifer Lyn Morone

Silk Leaf

Julian Melchiorri (IT/UK), 2014

Inspired by natural mechanisms and physical phenomena, Julian Melchiorri (IT/UK) conducted laboratory experiments in order to explore the potential for making materials that photosynthesize, and their possible applications. Silk Leaf is the first result of this research. It is a modular device that photosynthesizes, made of a biological material mostly composed of silk protein and chloroplasts.

www.julianmelchiorri.com

Silk Leaf

Photo credit: Julian Melchiorri

 

Mind the Scrap

Certain Measures: Tobias Nolte (DE), Andrew Witt (US), Michael Degen (US), Jason Tucker (US)
Sound Design: Simon Epstein (UK)
2016
With support from Forecast Platform

Instead of the laborious task of recycling construction rubble, Mine the Scrap finds a new use for even the tiniest part. The software scans the material and calculates how these pieces could be combined into a new form.

www.certainmeasures.com

minethescrap

Photo credit: Certain Measures, LLC

The Wiltshire Chair

Gavin Munro (UK)

Gavin Munro lets his chairs grow right in the garden, and totally dispenses with glue and screws in the process. With the help of traditional craftsmen’s techniques and modern computer simulations, he brings forth young sprouts shaped like pieces of furniture. After three to four years, the finished furniture can be harvested.

www.fullgrown.co.uk

chair

Photo credit: Gavin Munro

Sammy P.

Istituto Europeo di Design – IED (IT): Cesare Griffa (Master coordinator) with Mohamed Awaty, Victória Calil Barriatto, Anirudh Datta, Giulia Del Din, Samuel Fiolis, Riccardo Rigo (students), 2016
Teaching staff: Marco Caprani, Andrea Graziano, Stefano Paradiso, Fabrizio Alessio, Giacomo Leonzi, Tibor Antony
Partners: Officine Arduino, Arup

Performing photosynthesis, plants convert carbon dioxide (CO2) into glucose and oxygen. The system entitled Sammy P. combines various technologies to cultivate special high-photosynthetic plants. And not only do these micro-algae bind a disproportionately large amount of CO2; they’re also a tasty vegetarian source of protein.

iedsammyp.wordpress.com

sammyp

Photo credit: Istituto Europeo di Design – IED

Datenmarkt

YQP: Maximilian Hoch (DE), Florian Dohmann (DE), Manuel Urbanke (DE), 2014

A prospective future scenario envisions day-to-day business transactions involving our data—a supermarket in which customers can pay only with their personal Facebook data. No cash. No credit cards. No checks. Just data. Special thanks to Anita Hass store, Jana Koeder, Charlotte Kehl, Daniel Freitag and Katia Flouest-Sell

datenmarkt

Photo credit: YQP – Maximilian Hoch, Manuel Urbanke, Florian Dohmann

5 Mètres 80

CUBE CREATIVE PRODUCTIONS: Nicolas Deveaux (FR), 2013

A herd of giraffes embarks on a sequence of high-flying acrobatic dives. One after the other, the giraffes dynamically execute the most awesome rotations and twists before knifing perfectly into the water of the Olympic-size indoor swimming pool. The absurdity of the situation comes as a surprise, and then quickly dissolves to make room for a healthy dose of humor.

5 Metres 80 Deveaux

Photo Credit: Nicolas Deveaux

 

Human Sound Factor

Karl Julian Schmidinger (AT), Joschi Viteka (AT), 2016

The objects on display are represented in the soundscapes by familiar musical sequences and embedded in atmospheric tonal imagery. The styles of the symbolic passages range throughout musical history from the time of Michelangelo, through the Industrial Revolution, to the New Music of the 20th century.

 

Vestigium

Florina Costamoling (AT), 2016

With every step we take, we slightly change our environment. But the traces that individual human beings leave behind are not what endures; their totality is what constitute the Human Factor.

 

As Time flies by

Ars Electronica (AT), Maria Pfeifer (AT), MOOI OG (AT), 2016

“If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.” – Isaac Newton, 1676

For which manmade problems do we seek solutions? How is humankind configuring the world? What does progress actually mean and what influence do creativity, flexibility and the spirit of cooperation have on innovation? The Human Factor Timeline includes historical phenomena, discoveries and developments that have led up to the works on exhibit. It offers examples of artistic and scientific inventions that have changed the lives of human beings up to this day, showing how prototypes have become common, everyday objects and how industry also makes an impact on art and society.

 

STARTS: Science, Technology und ARTS.

Appointed by the European Commission, Ars Electronica has launched a prize to select the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the nexus of science and technology with the arts. A selection of prizewinning and nominated projects is presented in the exhibition.

.

HUMAN FACTOR | Projects

Sculpture Factory

Quayola (IT), 2016

Die Industrieroboterfräse wird zum Bildhauergesellen und produziert Kunst in Serie. The Sculpture Factory ist eine zeitgenössische Interpretation von Michelangelos “non-finito”-Technik. Wie beim Original aus dem 16. Jahrhundert bleiben die Figuren auch hier unvollendet.

Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Quayola und bitforms gallery. Sculpture Factory ist ein fortlaufendes Projekt, das mit der technischen Unterstützung von DARLab der London Southbank Universität, QD-Robotics, Kuka und Autodesk Delcam entwickelt wurde.

www.quayola.com

Sculpture Factory

Photo credit: Quayola

Face Cartography, creating new Identities

Daniel Boschung (CH), 2011-heute

Aus 600 Makrobildern zusammengesetzt, haben die Portraits eine ultrahohe Auflösung. Sie wirken durch ihre Schärfe irritierend, und übertrieben nah. Die Wahrnehmung schwankt dabei zwischen Instinkt und Verstand.

www.danielboschung.com

Face Cartography

Photo credit: Tom Mesic

Environment Dress 2.0

uh513: María Castellanos (ES), Alberto Valverde (ES), 2015

Lärm, Temperatur, Luftdruck, UV-Strahlung oder die Menge an Kohlenmonoxid – wir leben umgeben von Schadstoffen und Faktoren, die unser tägliches Leben beeinflussen. Environment Dress 2.0 sind Kleidungsstücke, die Informationen über die unmittelbare Umwelt der TrägerInnen sammeln, visualisieren und über eine App zur Verfügung stellen.

Project created thanks to the prize Next Things 2015-Conducta. Joint call of LABoral Centro de Arte and Telefónica I+D.

www.uh513.com

Environment Dress 2.0

Photo credit: María Castellanos, Alberto Valverde

The Free Universal Construction Kit

Golan Levin (US), Shawn Sims (US), 2012

Eine Sammlung von Verbindungsstücken, mit denen sich zehn bekannte Spielzeugbaukästen miteinander kombinieren lassen. Dadurch ergeben sich vollkommen neue Formen des Austausches zwischen den an sich geschlossenen Systemen. So lassen sich nicht nur neue Ideen umsetzen sondern auch die Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Massenkultur überdenken.

Released by Free Art and Technology (F.A.T.) Lab and Synaptic Lab

fffff.at/free-universal-construction-kit

The Free Universal Construction Kit

Photo credit: Golan Levin and Shawn Sims

Instruments of the Afterlife

Michael Burton (UK), Michiko Nitta (JP), 2015

Diese (Musik-)Instrumente verwandeln mithilfe von Pflanzen und gentechnisch veränderten Bakterien toxische Stoffe in wertvolle Materialien. Jedes Instrument wurde speziell für einen besonderen Schadstoff im Boden entwickelt. Durch Industrie, Kriege oder elektronischen Abfall verseuchte Landstriche sollen damit gereinigt werden. Das Exponat ist eine Antwort auf die wissenschaftliche Forschung ‚Cleaning Land for Wealth‘ (CL4W), gefördert durch UK’s Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council und unterstützt von Creative Outreach Resource Efficiency (CORE) der Loughborough Universität. Am Projekt beteiligten sich Wissenschaftsteams aus den Universitäten in Birmingham, Cranfield, Edinburgh, Newcastle & Warwick.

www.burtonnitta.co.uk

Instruments of the Afterlife

Photo credit: Lenka Rayn H.

Opimilk

Teresa Dillon (IE), Naomi Griffin-Murtagh (IE), Claire Dempsey (IE) , Aisling McCrudden (IE), 2013

Eine Kuh als lebende Pharma-Produzentin? Im menschlichen Speichel findet sich ein Stoff, der Schmerzen sehr effektiv stillt. Man isoliert das Gen, das diesen Stoff produziert. Das Gen wird in eine befruchtete Eizelle einer Milchkuh eingepflanzt. Daraus wächst ein Kälbchen, das als erwachsene Kuh schmerzstillende Milch gibt: die Opimilk.

Opimilk

Photo credit: Tom Mesic

Common Flowers / Flower Commons

BCL: Georg Tremmel (AT/JP), Shiho Fukuhara (JP), 2008

“Moondust” war die erste genetisch veränderte Blume die man kaufen konnte – eine blaue Nelke. Die Künstler kaufen diese blauen Gen-Nelken, ziehen aus ihnen neue Pflanzen und wildern diese wiederum aus.  Damit ist diese Blume auch als Gemeingut verfügbar. Ein Freiraum – eine Art Blumenallmende – wird erschaffen um für die Allgemeinheit frei wachsen und gedeihen können.

www.bcl.io

Common Flowers

Photo credit: Martin Hieslmair

AGRIEBORZ

Nick Ervinck (BE), 2009-2010

Für AGRIEBORZ nimmt der Künstler Anleihen bei Darstellungen menschlicher Organe in medizinischen Handbüchern: Muskeln, Nervenbahnen und Blutkreislauf. Die Arbeiten verweisen so nicht nur auf die wachsende Tendenz Technologie in den menschlichen Körper zu integrieren. Sie spielen auch mit der faszinierenden Möglichkeit, lebendes Gewebe als technisches Material zu verwenden.

www.nickervinck.com

 

Agrieborz

Photo credit: Nick Ervinck

IKRAUSIM

Nick Ervinck (BE), 2009

Inspiriert von chinesischen Felsformationen erinnert IKRAUSIM an ein Skelett. Eine „tote“, abstrakte Struktur, die durch eine organische, fließende Textur belebt wird. Die Arbeit existiert als 2D-Druck, als 3D-Druck, als digitale Animation und als Standbilder aus dieser Animation. Jedes dieser Medien eröffnet einen anderen Blickwinkel.

www.nickervinck.com

Ikrausim

Photo credit: Nick Ervinck

Teacup Tools

Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE), 2014-heute

Der Tee wird aus allem, was vom Himmel fällt, aufgegossen: Blätter, Staub, Regen. Messinstrumente in und auf den Teetassen geben Wärme ab und brühen den Tee auf. Die Informationen der kleinen Tee-Dampfwolken werden ebenfalls von den Messwerkzeugen erfasst. So entsteht eine Endlosschleife und die gesammelten Umweltdaten können als Tee getrunken werden.

Das Projekt wurde im Rahmen des Climate-Whirl-Projekts produziert – eine Zusammenarbeit der Fakultät für Forstwissenschaften, der Fakultät für Physik (Universität Helsinki) und Capsula. Unterstützt von Kone Foundation und der ResearchRaft for Art and subjective Science.

www.ffur.de

Tea Cup Tools

Photo credit: VG Bildkunst

Human Study #1, 3RNP

Patrick Tresset (FR/UK), 2012-heute

Die drei zeichnenden Roboter Paul-XI.a, .b und .c haben alte Schulbänke als Körper und Webcams als Augen. Die für ihr Portrait sitzenden Subjekte werden sowohl von den Robotern als auch vom Publikum beobachtet. Für die Roboter ist jedes Individuum lediglich das Objekt einer Studie, für das Publikum ist es nicht mehr als einer von vier Schauspielern in einer kurzen Theaterszene.

www.patricktresset.com

Human Study #1

Photo credit: Patrick Tresset

Balance From Within

Jacob Tonski (US), 2012

Mittels eines ausgeklügelten Mechanismus balanciert ein 170 Jahre altes Sofa auf nur einem Bein. Ständig läuft es Gefahr aus dem Gleichgewicht zu geraten und umzustürzen. Es reagiert mit inneren Ausgleichmanövern auf Kräfte von außen. In der Robotik hat die Entwicklung von Steuerungssystemen zum Gleichgewichtsausgleich hohe Priorität.

www.jacobtonski.com

Balance from within

Photo credit: Florian Voggeneder

SWITCH

Ars Electronica Futurelab (AT): Hideaki Ogawa, Matthew Gardiner, My Trinh Gardiner, Christopher Lindinger, Emiko Ogawa, Roland Haring, 2010-heute

Ein Schalter ist ein einfaches Interface, das für die Veränderung eines Zustands in einen anderen verwendet wird. Für SWITCH werden zwei Bilder gestaltet: eines für „On“ und eines für „Off“. Ein Sensor, der auf Bewegung, Geräusche, Helligkeit oder Temperatur reagiert, schaltet zwischen den zwei Bildern um. BesucherInnen der Ausstellung sind eingeladen ihren Beitrag zu ON/OFF einzubringen.

www.aec.at/futurelab

SWITCH

Photo credit: rubra

INAPRO Innovative Aquaponics for Professional Application

IGB–Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (DE), 2016

Aquaponik verbindet die Aufzucht von Fischen und Pflanzen in einem geschlossenen Kreislauf: Das Fischwasser liefert die Nährstoffe für die Pflanzen. Die Pflanzen filtern das Wasser für die Fische. INAPRO stellt den Pflanzen die Nährlösung nach Bedarf zur Verfügung und führt aufgefangenes Kondensat der Pflanzen in den Fischkreislauf zurück.

www.inapro-project.eu

inapro

Photo credit: inapro-project.eu

bioMASON Biocement Masonry

bioMASON (US), 2012-heute

Ziegelsteine werden in über 80% aller Bauvorhaben weltweit eingesetzt. Gewöhnliche Ziegelsteine werden gebrannt – dieses Herstellungsverfahren benötigt hohe Energie und erzeugt hohe CO2 Emissionen. Bei bioMASON werden Ziegel aus Sand mit Hilfe von Bakterien gehärtet.

www.biomason.com

biomason

Photo credit: biomason.com

Rare Earthenware

Black stoneware and radioactive mine tailings, Unknown Fields Division (UK/AU), 2015

Seltene Erden sind für die Produktion von Elektronikgeräten und anderen Technologien notwendig. Der Film dokumentiert den Weg dieser seltenen Erden zurück zu einem radioaktiven See. Aus dem See-Schlamm wurden drei Vasen hergestellt: Jede enthält genau so viel Toxine, wie bei der Herstellung eines Smartphones, eines Laptops oder einer Autobatterie anfallen.

Im Auftrag von The Victoria and Albert Museum Unknown Fields in Zusammenarbeit mit Architectural Association Film and Photography und Toby Smith, Keramikarbeiten in Zusammenarbeit mit London Sculpture Workshop, Unterstützung Animation von Christina Varvia

www.unknownfieldsdivision.com

Rare Earthenware

Photo credit: Toby Smith / Unknown Fields

“The Culture” series

Afroditi Psarra (GR), Dafni Papadopoulou (GR), 2014-2016

Die Wearables – also tragbare Computersysteme, die während der Anwendung am menschlichen Körper befestigt sind – verhalten sich wie empfindsame Organismen: Sie reagieren auf die Aktionen und Befindlichkeiten ihrer TrägerInnen mit kleinen Bewegungen. Inspiriert sind die Kleidungs- und Schmuckstücke von den Science-Fiction Romanen Iain M. Banks’.

www.afroditipsarra.com

The Culture series

Photo credit: Afroditi Psarra, Dafni Papadopoulou

Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc

Jennifer Lyn Morone (US), 2014-heute

Die natürliche Person Jennifer Lyn Morone vermarktet sich als registriertes Unternehmen Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc. Ausgewertet und verkauft werden vergangene Erfahrungen und gegenwärtige Potentiale (Gene, Arbeit, Kreativität, Blut, Schweiß und Tränen), zukünftige Potentiale, und alle Daten, die sich aus ihrem quantifiziertem Leben ergeben.

www.jenniferlynmorone.com

Jennifer Lyn Morone

Photo credit: Jennifer Lyn Morone

Silk Leaf

Julian Melchiorri (IT/UK), 2014

Inspiriert von den Mechanismen der Natur sowie physikalischen Phänomenen hat Julian Melchiorri (IT/UK) mit Laborversuchen begonnen, um das Potenzial fotosynthetischer Materialien und ihrer möglichen Anwendungsbereiche auszuloten. Das Silk Leaf ist ein erstes Ergebnis dieser Experimente – ein Artefakt aus organischem Material wie Seidenproteinen und Chloroplast mit der Fähigkeit zur Fotosynthese.

www.julianmelchiorri.com

Silk Leaf

Photo credit: Julian Melchiorri

 

Mind the Scrap

Certain Measures: Tobias Nolte (DE), Andrew Witt (US), Michael Degen (US), Jason Tucker (US)
Sound Design: Simon Epstein (UK)
2016
With support from Forecast Platform

Anstatt Bauschutt aufwendig zu recyceln, findet Mine the Scrap für jedes kleine Teil eine neue Verwendung. Die Software scannt das das Material und errechnet wie die Stücke zu einer neuen Form kombiniert werden können.

www.certainmeasures.com

minethescrap

Photo credit: Certain Measures, LLC

The Wiltshire Chair

Gavin Munro (UK)

Gavin Munro lässt seine Stühle direkt im Garten wachsen, ganz ohne Leim und Schrauben. Mithilfe von traditionellen Handwerkstechniken und moderner Computersimulationen bringt er junge Triebe in die Form von Möbelstücken. Nach 3 – 4 Jahren kann das fertige Möbelstück geerntet werden.

www.fullgrown.co.uk

chair

Photo credit: Gavin Munro

Sammy P.

Istituto Europeo di Design – IED (IT): Cesare Griffa (Master coordinator) with Mohamed Awaty, Victória Calil Barriatto, Anirudh Datta, Giulia Del Din, Samuel Fiolis, Riccardo Rigo (students), 2016
Teaching staff: Marco Caprani, Andrea Graziano, Stefano Paradiso, Fabrizio Alessio, Giacomo Leonzi, Tibor Antony
Partners: Officine Arduino, Arup

Bei der Photosynthese wandeln Pflanzen Kohlenstoffdioxid (CO2) in Traubenzucker und Sauerstoff um. Das System Sammy P.  kombiniert verschiedene Technologien um spezielle hoch-photosynthetische Pflanzen zu züchten. Denn diese Mikroalgen binden besonders viel CO2 und sind außerdem eine schmackhafte, vegetarische Eiweißquelle.

iedsammyp.wordpress.com

sammyp

Photo credit: Istituto Europeo di Design – IED

Datenmarkt

YQP: Maximilian Hoch (DE), Florian Dohmann (DE), Manuel Urbanke (DE), 2014

Ein mögliches Zukunftsszenario, das das tägliche Geschäft mit unseren Daten aufzeigt. Ein Supermarkt, in dem die KundInnen nur mit ihren persönlichen Facebook-Daten bezahlen können. Kein Bargeld. Keine Kreditkarten. Keine Schecks. Nur Daten. Spezieller Dank gilt Anita Hass store, Jana Koeder, Charlotte Kehl, Daniel Freitag und Katia Flouest-Sell.

datenmarkt

Photo credit: YQP – Maximilian Hoch, Manuel Urbanke, Florian Dohmann

5 Mètres 80

CUBE CREATIVE PRODUCTIONS: Nicolas Deveaux (FR), 2013

Eine Giraffenherde schreitet einen spiralförmig ansteigenden Aufgang hinauf und geht in Position. Eine nach der anderen nehmen die Giraffen Anlauf und absolvieren die erstaunlichsten Schrauben und Saltos, bevor sie gekonnt ins Wasser des Olympischen Schwimmbeckens tauchen. Die Absurdität der Situation ist eine Überraschung, die sich schnell im Humor auflöst.

5 Metres 80 Deveaux

Photo Credit: Nicolas Deveaux

 

Human Sound Factor

Karl Julian Schmidinger (AT), Joschi Viteka (AT), 2016

Die Ausstellungsobjekte werden in den Soundscapes durch Musikzitate repräsentiert und in ein atmosphärisches Klangbild eingebettet. Der Bogen umspannt dabei die Musikgeschichte von der Lebenszeit Michelangelos über die Zeit der industriellen Revolution bis zur „Neuen Musik“ des 20. Jahrhunderts.

 

Vestigium

Florina Costamoling (AT), 2016

Mit jedem getanen Schritt verändern wir unsere Umwelt. Was jedoch bleibt, sind nicht die Spuren des einzelnen, es ist ihre Gesamtheit, die den Human Factor ausmacht.

 

As Time flies by

Ars Electronica (AT), Maria Pfeifer (AT), MOOI OG (AT), 2016

„Wenn ich weiter geblickt habe, so deshalb, weil ich auf den Schultern von Riesen stehe.“ – Isaac Newton, 1676

Für welche menschgemachten Probleme suchen wir Lösungen? Wie gestaltet der Mensch die Welt? Was bedeutet eigentlich Fortschritt und welchen Einfluss haben Kreativität, Flexibilität und Kooperationsgeist auf Innovation? In der Human-Factor-Timeline finden sich historische Phänomene, Entdeckungen und Entwicklungen, die den Arbeiten in der Ausstellung vorangegangen sind. Exemplarisch zeigt sie künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Erfindungen, die das Leben der Menschen bis heute verändert haben, wie aus Prototypen alltägliche Gegenstände wurden und wie die Industrie auch Kunst und Gesellschaft beeinflusste.

 

STARTS: Science (Wissenschaft), Technology (Technologie) und ARTS (Kunst)

Ars Electronica lancierte im Auftrag der Europäischen Kommission einen Preis, um zukunftsträchtige Kooperationen im Bereich Kreativität und Innovation an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Kunst zu prämieren. Eine Auswahl der Nominierungen und Preisträgerprojekte wird in der Ausstellung präsentiert.

.