Projects

WALL (2012)

Rejane Cantoni & Leonardo Crescenti (BR)

wall This wall isn’t the least bit inflexible; it reacts to those who confront it. WALL is an interactive kinetic sculpture composed of 30 vertically arrayed, mirrored-finished aluminum panels that rotate 180º in a linear sequence. The movement commences when an installation visitor moves past one end of the wall, and continues in a chain reaction like falling dominoes. One effect triggers the next. Passers-by experience a series of optical phenomena, reflections and distortions that alter the beholders’ perception of reality. This interaction with installation visitors endows WALL with a sort of personality. The specialty of Rejane Cantoni and Leonardo Crescenti is coming up with audiovisual and haptic interfaces that make for a natural mode of exploring virtual, remote and hybrid environments. www.cantoni-crescenti.com.br

DYNAMIC STRUCTURE 29117 (2007 – 2012)

Willem van Weeghel (NL)

structures The image is affixed to the wall but the motif is in constant motion. DYNAMIC STRUCTURE 29117 by Dutch artist Willem van Weeghel consists of 32 black lines rotating independently of one another on a white background. Clusters of four rays pivot around eight different points. Each four-ray configuration moves differently; the rays sometime overlap like the hands of a clock. The motion is smooth, and can be either clockwise or counterclockwise. A control system unseen by installation visitors coordinates the rays’ positions and constantly creates new forms. The structures move in the transitional zone between chaos and order. There is neither repetition of the cycle of motion nor any annoying ticking. www.willemvanweeghel.nl

BLINKING LEAVES (2003)

Yasuhiro Suzuki (JP)

leaves This sculpture is sturdily rooted in the exhibition space like a big tree trunk, but hundreds of tiny paper leaves are what makes its imposing presence truly unfold. The white leaves are blown upwards in its internal cylinder to briefly conjure up an imaginary tree with resplendent foliage in its crown. The leaves are imprinted with an open eye on one side and a closed eye on the other, which makes them seem to be winking at installation visitors during their tumbling descent to the floor. And also inviting visitors to restock the tree, since the leaves can be gathered and fed back into the sculpture to trigger another fast-forward change of seasons. Japanese artist Yasuhiro Suzuki goes more deeply into this “fluttering” and “blinking” in his 2011 book “Mabataki to Habataki.” www.mabataki.com

PLANT (2010)

Akira Nakayasu (JP)

plant Artist/designer Akira Nakayasu followed up his first work—“Himawari” (2008), a robot in the form of a sunflower—with further research on robotic plants. Wind-blown grass inspired this interactive installation entitled PLANT. The robotic plant features 169 artificial leaves controlled by proprietary shape-memory alloy actuators. Each leaf reacts independently to motion—for instance, a hand approaching it—by gently wafting in the virtual wind. www.nakayasu.com

PHANTASM (2007)

Takahiro Matsuo (JP)

phantasm Visitors enter the world of PHANTASM with a glowing ball of light in hand. Butterflies react to the light, fly towards it and pursue the illumination. If a visitor shields the ball with his/her hands, the butterflies disappear, along with the magical environment in which they flutter about. This LED-studded ball of light is thus the key that opens up a virtual world of fantasy. How the visitor handles the ball is registered in real time by a sensor camera mounted on the ceiling of the installation space. Thus, the activity of the butterflies and the accompanying background music adapt to changes in the light emitted by the ball. Takahiro Matsuo’s interactive projection thus engenders extraordinary settings for relaxation and dreaming. www.monoscape.jp

THE LIMITATIONS OF LOGIC AND THE ABSENCE OF ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY (2008)

Alistair McClymont (UK)

logics Many people are enthralled by natural phenomena occurring on our planet. British artist Alistair McClymont constructed a model of one in order to better understand it. Thus, he literally tore a tornado out of its natural surroundings, thereby reducing the phenomenon to its essential form and then using technological aids to bring it back to life. Nevertheless, there’s still that certain something—both in the original as well as the mockup—that remains essentially incomprehensible to us, something upon which we humans can exert no influence. www.alistairmcclymont.com

ENE-GEOMETRIX (2007)

Masato Sekine (JP)

ENE-GEOMETRIX generates fascinating patterns by regulating the temperature difference between a fluid and its environment. Peltier modules arrayed in a grid warm or cool the liquid. As soon as temperature equilibrium is achieved, a stable linear pattern forms. When the temperatures of the fluid and its environment diverge, currents cause the geometric pattern to break down. Masato Sekine’s installation illustrates the interrelationship between humankind and nature when the encounter of two magnitudes—artificially controlled heat energy on one hand, and natural self-organization on the other—at a shared location produces dynamic patterns. www.sekines.net

PROTOTYPE FOR A NEW BIOMACHINE (2012)

Ivan Henriques (BR)

biomachine Now that lots of people are going high-tech, it’s high time for plants to do so too. Brazilian artist Ivan Henriques’ interactive BIOMACHINE explores new channels of communication among human beings, living organisms and machines. It transforms a tropical plant into a sensor. When an installation visitor touches the leaves of this Homalomena, a flowering plant of the Araceae (Arum) family, the entire plant registers this stimulus and transmits an electrical signal to an attached machine that proceeds to go into motion. The creation of this prototype will be followed up by additional research into the development of autonomous symbiotic bio-machines in which plants and mechanical devices literally merge into one unit. www.ivanhenriques.com

ORIBOTICS (2010)

Matthew Gardiner (AU)

oribotics ORIBOTICS are the upshot of an artistically motivated synthesis of the traditional Japanese art of paper folding and state-of-the-art robotics. The artificial plant monitors its surrounding via sensor, opening its blossoms when an object approaches and thereby setting 1,050 folds into motion. When a blossom is activated, the other so-called oribots interlinked with it follow suit in a chain reaction and form an impressive image of a surreal meadow full of flowers. Matthew Gardiner works in what he calls oribotics, investigating aesthetic, biomechanical and morphological connections among nature, origami and robotics. The configuration of patterns of folds—particularly the precise array of V-shaped valleys and Λ-shaped ridges—determines the mechanical design, so that research focuses primarily on the discovery of patterns. www.oribotics.net

METER CRAWLER (2008 – 2013)

Keiko Takahashi (JP)

meter_crawler The retractable tape measure that Japanese artist Keiko Takahashi uses in this work seems no different than one any handyman has in his toolbox, but a simple technical enhancement endows this model with a life of its own. The result: an immediately recognizable resemblance to the physical appearance and leisurely locomotion of a creature with which we’re all familiar. The retractable tape measure inches along like a snail. METER CRAWLER extends its graduated band about five centimeters and digs the metal flange on the end into the ground to pull its housing forward. This case clearly illustrates how we humans, by bringing just a bit of imagination to bear, can discover similarities between nature and technology. www.th.jec.ac.jp/~keiko

TELE-PRESENT WIND (2010)

David Bowen (US)

telewind Is it possible to take the sensation of a gust of wind or slight breeze blowing outdoors and transpose it into a windowless room? How about from one spot on Earth to another? American artist David Bowen’s installation does just that. An accelerometer is attached to a plant growing outdoors and records the motion of the stalk swaying in the breeze. Even the slightest puff produces data, which are transmitted into the installation space to 42 tiltable mechanical elements, each of which is mounted on the stalk of a dried plant. In real time and coordinated with wind conditions outside, the array of plants gracefully executes its synchronized dance. www.dwbowen.com

EARTH-CORE-LABORATORY AND ELF-SCAN (2003–2004)

Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE)

earth_core According to artist Agnes Meyer-Brandis, magnificent subterranean coral reefs exist not only on the ocean floor or in particular caves; they can be constantly migrating, and could be found at any place where sufficient water is present. Extremely sensitive monitoring devices augment human sensory organs to enable us to observe delicate worlds without intruding on them. A specially developed “parabit scanner” can be used to check extracted drilling core samples for the presence of subterranean biogenic reefs und micro-biotope life invisible to the naked eye. The scanner as well as the detector work without physical contact and their size is kept to a minimum in order to avoid frightening the tiny underground creatures and the elves inhabiting subterranean reefs. www.ffur.de

WINDOW FARMS (2012)

Daniel Warnke (DE)

Having a garden of one’s own is the dream of many city dwellers. Now, WINDOW FARMS can make this dream come true—at least on a small scale. The creative solution: setting up hydroponics equipment vertically on an existing apartment window or a shop’s display window, and using simple, affordable materials like empty plastic bottles to optimize humidity and small lengths of tubing to water the plants. Daniel Warnke joined deople network and hooked up with an interdisciplinary crew working collaboratively in the spirit of design thinking in order to solve current and future problems. And this ultimately led him to build his first window farm. The idea originated in New York City and is based primarily on mutual support and open exchange among these urban sodbusters. The input: experience and knowledge; the output: vegetables and fruits grown on your own windowsill. www.deople.org

TRANSPARENT SPECIMEN (2012)

Iori Tomita (JP)

specimen Japanese artist Iori Tomita turns sea creatures into “fantastic-strange” specimens. As a student, he learned the technique of producing specimens for scientific analysis purposes. The creatures’ muscle tissue is made translucent by dissolving their natural proteins. It takes laboratory techniques developed by scientists to reveal the precise forms created by nature. The body parts are stained, whereby the harder and softer tissues are treated with different colors. Depending on the size of the creature, it can take up to six months to create a specimen. Employing what is actually a method of scientific analysis, Iori Tomita creates bizarre sculptures that can be attributed to both art and science. www.shinsekai-th.com

Projekte

WALL (2012)

Rejane Cantoni & Leonardo Crescenti (BR)

wall Diese Wand ist nicht starr, sie reagiert auf ihr Gegenüber. 30 vertikal angeordnete Aluminiumplatten, die sich in einer linearen Abfolge jeweils um 180 Grad drehen, verwandeln die „Wall“ in eine kinetische, interaktive Skulptur. Der Mechanismus startet mit dem Vorübergehen an einem der Endpunkte der Installation, die Bewegung setzt sich wie bei fallenden Dominosteinen fort. Ein Effekt bedingt den nächsten. Die PassantInnen erleben eine Reihe von optischen Phänomenen, die durch Reflexionen und Verzerrungen die Wahrnehmung der Realität verändern. Durch die Interaktion mit den Menschen erhält die Wand einen Hauch von Persönlichkeit. Rejane Cantoni und Leonardo Crescenti haben sich auf audio-visuelle und haptische Interfaces spezialisiert, die das Erkunden von virtuellen, entfernten und hybriden Umgebungen auf natürlichem Weg ermöglichen. www.cantoni-crescenti.com.br

DYNAMIC STRUCTURE 29117 (2007 – 2010)

Willem van Weeghel (NL)

structures Das Bild ist an der Wand fixiert, das Motiv jedoch befindet sich ständig in Bewegung. Die „dynamic structure 29117“ des niederländischen Künstlers Willem van Weeghel besteht aus 32 schwarzen Linien, die unabhängig voneinander auf einer weißen Fläche rotieren können. An acht Drehpunkten sind jeweils vier Linien angebracht, die individuell angesteuert werden und sich wie Uhrzeiger immer wieder auch überdecken. Die Bewegung ist stufenlos in beide Richtungen möglich; eine versteckte Steuerung koordiniert die Positionen der Linien und bildet stets neue Formen. Die Strukturen wechseln zwischen Chaos und Ordnung, es gibt weder einen sich wiederholenden Zyklus noch ein störendes Ticken. www.willemvanweeghel.nl

BLINKING LEAVES (2003)

Yasuhiro Suzuki (JP)

leaves Wie ein riesiger Baumstamm schlägt die Skulptur im Raum ihre Wurzeln, doch erst mit den Hunderten kleinen Blättern aus Papier entfaltet sie ihre ganze Pracht. Im Inneren des Zylinders werden die weißen Blätter nach oben geblasen und zaubern für wenige Sekunden einen imaginären Laubbaum in die Luft. Die mit offenen und geschlossenen Augen bedruckten Blätter wechseln bei ihrem fallenden Tanz so schnell, als ob sie den Menschen zublinzeln und sie erneut einladen würden, den Baum wieder zu „befüllen“ – denn das Laub kann eingesammelt werden, um einen neuen Jahreszyklus im Schnelldurchlauf in Gang zu setzen. Dieses „Blinken“ und „Flattern“ greift der japanische Künstler Yasuhiro Suzuki in seinem Buch „Mabataki to Habataki“ (2011) wieder auf. www.mabataki.com

PLANT (2010)

Akira Nakayasu (JP)

plant Nach seiner ersten Arbeit, einem Roboter in Form einer Sonnenblume mit dem Titel „Himawari“ (2008), hat der Künstler und Gestalter Akira Nakayasu seine Forschungen im Bereich robotischer Pflanzen weitergeführt. Für die interaktive Installation „plant“ hat er sich von im Wind wehenden Gras inspirieren lassen. Die Roboterpflanze hat 169 künstliche Blätter, die sich durch spezielle Formgedächtnislegierungen steuern lassen. Jedes Blatt reagiert eigenständig auf Bewegungen wie die einer sich nähernden Hand, indem es sich sanft und in aller Ruhe im virtuellen Wind bewegt. www.nakayasu.com

PHANTASM (2006)

Takahiro Matsuo (JP)

phantasm Mit einer leuchtenden Kugel in der Hand betreten die Menschen die Welt von „Phantasm“. Schmetterlinge reagieren auf das Licht, flattern heran und folgen der Illumination. Wird die Kugel mit den Händen abgedeckt, verschwinden die Schmetterlinge mitsamt ihrer magischen Umgebung, in der sie sich bewegen. Die mit LEDs bestückte Lichtkugel verwandelt sich damit zum Schlüssel zu einer virtuellen Fantasiewelt. Eine Sensorkamera misst von oben in Echtzeit die Handhabung der Kugel. Je nachdem welche Veränderungen auf die Kugel einwirken, passen sich die Aktivität der Schmetterlinge und die Soundkulisse im Hintergrund an. Die interaktive Projektion von Takahiro Matsuo lässt ungewöhnliche Orte zum Entspannen und Träumen entstehen. www.monoscape.jp

THE LIMITATIONS OF LOGIC AND THE ABSENCE OF ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY (2008)

Alistair McClymont (UK)

logics Die Naturerscheinungen auf unserer Erde ziehen viele Menschen in ihren Bann. Der Brite Alistair McClymont hat eine davon nachgebaut, um sie noch besser verstehen zu können. So hat er einen Wirbelsturm regelrecht aus seiner natürlichen Umgebung herausgerissen, das Phänomen damit auf seine wesentlichsten Grundformen reduziert und mit technologischen Hilfsmitteln wieder zum Leben erweckt. Doch sowohl im Original als auch in der Kopie steckt ein gewisses Etwas, das für uns von Natur aus unverständlich bleibt und auf das wir Menschen keinen Einfluss nehmen können. www.alistairmcclymont.com

ENE-GEOMETRIX (2007)

Masato Sekine (JP)

Mit „Ene-geometrix“ lassen sich faszinierende Muster erzeugen, indem der Temperaturunterschied zwischen einer Flüssigkeit und ihrer Umgebung gesteuert wird. Die auf einem Raster angeordneten Peltier-Module erwärmen oder kühlen die Flüssigkeit. Sobald ein Wärmegleichgewicht vorhanden ist, entsteht ein stabiles Linienmuster. Weichen die Temperaturen der Flüssigkeit und der Umgebung voneinander ab, wird das Muster durch Strömungen gelöscht. Mit dieser Installation führt uns Masato Sekine die Beziehung zwischen Natur und Mensch vor Augen, wenn sich durch die Kombination von zwei Gesetzmäßigkeiten – die künstlich gesteuerte Wärmeenergie auf der einen Seite und die Selbstorganisation der Natur auf der anderen – an einem gemeinsamen Ort dynamische Muster ergeben. www.sekines.net

PROTOTYPE FOR A NEW BIOMACHINE (2012)

Ivan Henriques (BR)

biomachine Nicht nur Menschen sollen auf Technologien zugreifen können, sondern auch Pflanzen. Der brasilianische Künstler Ivan Henriques erforscht mit seiner interaktiven „Biomaschine“ (PNBM) neue Wege der Kommunikation zwischen Menschen, lebenden Organismen und Maschinen, und verwandelt eine tropische Pflanze in einen Sensor. Wenn die Blätter der „Homalomena“ aus der Familie der Aronstabgewächse berührt werden, nimmt die gesamte Pflanze diesen Reiz wahr und überträgt ein elektrisches Signal an eine angeschlossene Maschine, die sich daraufhin in Bewegung setzt. Dem Prototyp sollen weitere Forschungen folgen, um autonome symbiotische Biomaschinen zu entwickeln, bei der Pflanzen und Maschinen ineinander verschmelzen. www.ivanhenriques.com

ORIBOTICS (2010)

Matthew Gardiner (AU)

oribotics Die „Oribotics“ sind das Ergebnis einer künstlerisch motivierten Synthese von uralter japanischer Falttradition und modernster Robotik. Über einen Sensor nimmt die künstliche Pflanze ihre Umgebung wahr, öffnet ihre Blüte, wenn sich ein Objekt nähert, und setzt damit 1.050 Falten in Bewegung. Wird eine Blüte aktiviert, folgen die anderen miteinander vernetzten Oribots in einer Kettenreaktion nach und erzeugen ein beeindruckendes Bild eines surrealen Blütenfelds. Matthew Gardiner wendet sich mit seinem Werk dem Forschungsbereich der Oribotik zu, die sich mit ästhetischen, biomechanischen und morphologischen Verbindungen zwischen Natur, Origami und Robotik beschäftigt. Die Gestaltung der Faltmuster, insbesondere die genaue Anordnung von Berg- und Talfalten, ist bestimmend für das mechanische Design, sodass sich die Forschung vor allem auf die Entdeckung von Mustern konzentriert. www.oribotics.net

METER CRAWLER (2008 – 2013)

Keiko Takahashi (JP)

meter_crawler Äußerlich unterscheidet sich das Rollmaßband in dieser Arbeit des japanischen Künstlers Keiko Takahashi kaum von jedem anderen. Doch mit einfachen technischen Mitteln wird dem physischen Objekt Leben eingehaucht – mit der optischen Ähnlichkeit und der nachgeahmten Bewegung stellen wir schnell einen direkten Vergleich mit einem landläufig bekannten Lebewesen her. Wie eine Schnecke kriecht das Rollmaßband über die Oberfläche: Der „Meter Crawler“ streckt das Messelement etwa fünf Zentimeter aus seinem Gehäuse, krallt sich mit seinem Metallwinkel in den Boden und zieht den restlichen Körper nach. Das Beispiel zeigt ganz klar, wie wir Menschen mit einem geringen Maß an Vorstellungskraft Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Natur und Technik finden. www.th.jec.ac.jp/~keiko

TELE-PRESENT WIND (2010)

David Bowen (US)

telewind Lässt sich die Empfindung einer Windböe oder eines Windhauchs im Freien in einen Raum ohne Fenster übertragen, oder gar von einem Ort der Welt zu einem anderen? Die Installation des US-amerikanischen Künstlers David Bowen macht es möglich: Ein Beschleunigungsmesser ist an einer Pflanze im Freien angebracht und nimmt die Bewegungen des im Wind schwankenden Stiels auf. Jeder kleinste Windstoß produziert Daten, die an die 42 kippbaren mechanischen Elemente im Inneren übertragen werden, an denen jeweils eine getrocknete Pflanze angebracht ist. In Echtzeit und im Gleichklang mit den äußeren Windverhältnissen setzt sich schließlich eine Gruppe von Pflanzen wieder in Bewegung. www.dwbowen.com

EARTH-CORE-LABORATORY AND ELF-SCAN (2003–2004)

Agnes Meyer-Brandis (DE)

earth_core Wunderschöne unterirdische Korallenriffe gibt es der Künstlerin Agnes Meyer-Brandis zufolge nicht nur am tiefen Meeresgrund oder in besonderen Höhlen – sie können ständig wandern und überall sein, wo eine große Menge an Wasser vorhanden ist. Mit behutsamen Suchgeräten werden unsere Sinnesorgane erweitert, um empfindliche Welten beobachten zu können, ohne in sie eindringen zu müssen. Geborgene Bohrkerne können mit dem eigens dafür entwickelten „Parabit-Scanner“ auf unterirdische biogene Riffe und andere, mit bloßem Auge unsichtbare Bodenlebewesen und Minibiotope erkundet werden. Der Scanner arbeitet, wie auch der Detektor, berührungslos und ist zudem sehr klein gehalten, um die winzigen Bodenlebewesen oder die in den unterirdischen Riffen lebenden Elfen nicht zu erschrecken. www.ffur.de

WINDOW FARMS (2012)

Daniel Warnke (DE)

Der eigene Garten ist für viele StadtbewohnerInnen ein Traum. Zumindest ansatzweise lässt sich dieser mit „Window Farms“ erfüllen – mit einer vertikalen Hydrokultur an den bestehenden Wohnungsfenstern und Geschäftsauslagen, und das kostengünstig und mit einfachen Hilfsmitteln wie leeren Plastikflaschen für das optimale Feuchtigkeitsklima oder kleinen Schläuchen zur Wasserversorgung der Pflanzen. Daniel Warnke hat sich bei „deople network e. V.“ mit einem interdisziplinären Team zusammengeschlossen, um im Sinne von „Design Thinking“ gegenwärtige und zukünftige Probleme zu lösen, und schließlich seine erste „Window Farm“ gebaut. Die aus New York City stammende Idee beruht vor allem auf der gegenseitigen Unterstützung und dem offenen Austausch zwischen den Menschen, die diese Farmen betreiben. Sie bringen ihre Erfahrung und ihr Wissen ein, um künftig Gemüse und Früchte von der eigenen Fensterscheibe ernten zu können. www.deople.org

TRANSPARENT SPECIMEN (2012)

Iori Tomita (JP)

specimen Der japanische Künstler Iori Tomita macht aus Meeresbewohnern „fantastisch-fremdartige“ Präparate. Als Student lernte er die Techniken der Herstellung von Präparaten für wissenschaftliche Analyseprozesse kennen. Das Muskelgewebe der Tiere wird durchscheinend gemacht, indem natürliche Eiweißstoffe aufgelöst werden. Die präzisen Formen der Natur werden erst mit menschlicher Präparationstechnik freigelegt und dann eingefärbt, die festeren und die weicheren Gewebeteile dabei unterschiedlich behandelt. Es dauert bis zu sechs Monate, ein Präparat herzustellen – je nachdem wie groß das Lebewesen ist. Mit einer eigentlich wissenschaftlichen Analysemethode schafft Iori Tomita bizarre Skulpturen, die sowohl Teil von Kunst als auch von Wissenschaft sein können. www.shinsekai-th.com