Ars Electronica in Berlin

Ars Electronica in Berlin 2017

You and I

Let’s talk about your future. Person to person, as equals. Just like we’ve always been taught to do. But what if I weren’t a human being? What if I were a robot, a chatbot or a self-learning algorithm? Would you still want to talk to me, solicit my opinion? What would you think about me, and how would you come across to me? Would you confide private information to me? And speaking of entrusting—what would I have to do for you to be able to trust me? And what may I under no circumstances do?

DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum, Berlin, Germany
July 21, 2017 – October 26, 2017

Admittedly, these are all questions that you probably can’t answer so easily. But then it gets even more complicated—What if it weren’t even possible anymore to clearly differentiate between human beings and machines? What if artificially generated organs and limbs, intelligent prostheses, robotic implants, nano-sensors and such things were body parts that people had come to take completely for granted? How much machinery could you have in and on your body and still be a human being? And what would constitute your nature then?

First and Second Nature

Speaking of nature—everybody’s familiar with the so-called first nature. After all, it’s always been there and you’re one of its creatures. You can see, hear, smell, taste and feel this nature because evolution endowed you with these capabilities, your senses. And you should also definitely help to conserve this nature. Not because this is so romantic but because you couldn’t survive without it. Since you rely on fresh water, clean air and healthy food—in stark contrast to the machines.

OK, and then there’s this second nature. The one you and your fellow human beings have created yourselves. And even though you can’t see, hear, smell, taste and feel this second nature, it influences your life just as strongly as the first one. This second nature is a kind of digital parallel dimension in which you increasingly communicate with other people, in which you do your banking, sign up for insurance and go shopping. People aren’t the only ones who use this parallel dimension; more and more machines and programs do so too.

And Our Future

Ever since people like you have walked the Earth, they’ve been striving to make life simpler, richer and more livable. That’s the only reason human beings develop technology in the first place, why we can look back on so many achievements—and have to look back on several catastrophes as well. After all, the development of technology and thus configuring the future are always open as far as the outcome is concerned. Everything depends on what you do and how you do it. It all depends on you. It order to have a say in which direction you’re changing yourself and our world, you need openness and curiosity, knowledge and critical faculties, courage and optimism. Simply put: All of what makes you a human being.

 

Projects Artists

 

 

Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Youtube Google+ Pinterest

Ars Electronica in Berlin

Ars Electronica in Berlin 2017

Sie und ich

Lassen Sie uns über Ihre Zukunft sprechen. Von Mensch zu Mensch, auf Augenhöhe. So weit, so gelernt. Was aber, wenn ich kein Mensch wäre? Sondern ein Roboter, ein Chatbot oder ein selbstlernender Algorithmus? Würden Sie dann auch mit mir sprechen wollen, mich um meine Meinung fragen? Was würden Sie von mir denken und wie würden Sie mir begegnen? Würden Sie mir Privates anvertrauen? Stichwort Vertrauen – was müsste ich tun, damit Sie Vertrauen zu mir haben könnten? Und was dürfte ich keinesfalls tun?

DRIVE. Volkswagen Group Forum, Berlin, Deutschland
21. Juli 2017 – 26. Oktober 2017

Zugegeben; das alles sind Fragen, die Sie wahrscheinlich nicht so leicht beantworten können. Doch es geht noch komplizierter: Was wäre denn, wenn es überhaupt keine klare Trennung in Mensch hier und Maschine dort mehr geben würde? Was, wenn künstlich erzeugte Organe und Gliedmaßen, intelligente Prothesen, robotische Implantate, Nanosensoren und anderes mehr ganz selbstverständliche Bestandteile Ihres Körpers wären? Wie viel einer Maschine könnten Sie in und an sich haben, um dennoch Mensch zu sein? Und was würde wohl Ihre Natur dann ausmachen?

Erste und Zweite Natur

Stichwort Natur. Die sogenannte Erste Natur kennen Sie ja. Weil sie schon immer da war und Sie eines ihrer Geschöpfe sind. Sie können diese Natur sehen, hören, riechen, schmecken und fühlen, weil die Evolution eben diese, Ihre Sinne hervorgebracht hat. Und diese Natur sollten Sie auch unbedingt bewahren helfen. Nicht der Romantik wegen, sondern weil Sie ohne sie nicht überleben werden. Weil Sie auf sauberes Wasser, saubere Luft und gesunde Nahrungsmittel angewiesen sind – ganz im Gegensatz zu den Maschinen.

Tja, und dann ist da noch diese Zweite Natur. Die haben Sie und Ihre Mitmenschen selbst geschaffen. Und obwohl Sie diese Zweite Natur weder sehen, hören, riechen, schmecken und berühren können, beeinflusst sie Ihr Leben genauso stark wie die Erste. Diese Zweite Natur ist eine Art digitale Paralleldimension, in der Sie immer öfter mit anderen Menschen kommunizieren, in der Sie Ihre Bankgeschäfte erledigen und Ihre Versicherungen abschließen, in der Sie einkaufen. Nicht nur Menschen nutzen diese Paralleldimension, auch immer mehr Maschinen und Programme tun das.

Und unsere Zukunft

Seitdem Menschen wie Sie auf der Erde wandeln, streben sie danach ihr Leben einfacher, reicher und lebenswerter zu gestalten. Nur deswegen entwickeln Menschen überhaupt Technologie, können auf zahlreiche Errungenschaften und müssen auf etliche Katastrophen zurückblicken. Denn die Entwicklung von Technologie und damit die Gestaltung der Zukunft sind im Ergebnis stets offen. Alles hängt davon ab, was Sie machen und wie Sie es machen. Alles hängt von Ihnen ab. Um mitbestimmen zu können, in welche Richtung Sie sich selbst und unsere Welt verändern, brauchen Sie Offenheit und Neugierde, Wissen und Kritikfähigkeit, Mut und Optimismus. All das, was Sie eben zum Menschen macht.

 

Projekte KünstlerInnen

 

 

Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Youtube Google+ Pinterest