Ars Electronica in Berlin 2017 | Artists

Akamatsu Nelo Akamatsu (JP) creates art works across several media such as installations with electric devices, event installations, video installations, sculptures, paintings and photos. He has an MFA from the Department of Intermedia Art of Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music in 2005. Nelo Akamatsu won the Golden Nica of the Prix Ars Electronica 2015 in the category Digital Music and Sound Art. His exhibition participations are requested internationally.
Akten Memo Akten (TR/UK) Memo Akten is an artist working with computation as a medium, exploring the collisions between nature, science, technology, ethics, ritual, tradition, and religion. Combining critical and conceptual approaches with investigations into form, movement, and sound, he creates data dramatizations of natural and anthropogenic processes. Alongside his practice, he is currently working towards a PhD in artificial intelligence and expressive human-machine interaction at Goldsmiths University of London. His work has been shown and performed internationally, and featured in books and academic papers. In 2013 Akten received the Prix Ars Electronica Golden Nica for his collaboration with Quayola, “Forms”.
exonemo Exonemo (JP): The artist unit “Exonemo” was formed in 1996 by Akaiwa Yae and Sembo Kensuke. Their experimental projects are typically humorous and innovative explorations of the paradoxes of digital and analog computer networked and actual environments in our lives. Exonemo won the Golden Nica for Net Vision category at Prix Ars Electronica 2006. They have been organizing the Secret Society IDPW gatherings and “Internet Yami-Ichi” since 2012.
Goto Akinori Goto (JP): Born in Japan in 1984 and currently based in Tokyo, artist/designer Akinori Goto graduated from the Department of Visual Communication Design at Musashino Art University. He combines cutting-edge technologies with conventional methods and media to create new forms of expression. His focus is on the development of projects that attempt to decipher the invisible connections and relationships behind people and objects by examining them from a variety of angles. Akinori Goto has received a number of awards for his work.
Van Herpen Iris van Herpen (NL), born in 1984, is a fashion designer. She studied Fashion Design at ArtEZ Institute of the Arts Arnhem and interned at Alexander McQueen in London and Claudy Jongstra in Amsterdam. Van Herpen immediately caught the eye with notable shows. In 2007, she started her own fashion label. Iris van Herpen creates women’s wear collections. Her designs require every time a unique treatment of material or the creation of complete new materials. For this reason, van Herpen prefers interdisciplinary research and collaborations with artists from various disciplines, often on a recurring basis. Since July 2011, she is a guest member of the prestigious Parisian Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture, which is part of the Fédération Française de la Couture. She participates in many international exhibitions and creates two collections a year. Her work has been recognized through awards, exhibitions, publications, and the mentioned guest membership.
Hesse-Honegger Cornelia Hesse-Honegger (CH) was born in 1944 in Zürich Switzerland. One year at the school for applied Art in Zürich and an apprentice as a scientific illustrator at the scientific department of the Zoological Museum of the University of Zürich where she worked for geneticists and taxonomists as a freelancer for 25 years. Later work at marine stations in the Mediterranean as well as the South Pacific. After the accident of Chernobyl 1987 – 1990 studies leaf bugs and plants in the environs of areas with nuclear fallout in Sweden, Ticino, Switzerland and Chernobyl Ukraine. In 1988 she makes the first studies of leaf bugs in the environs of nuclear power plants in Switzerland. On 1988 and 1989 she publishes her first articles about deformed leaf bugs and Drosophila flies. Studies on the health on leaf bugs in the environs of the reprocessing plants Sellafield, UK, 1989 and La Hague, France, 1999 followed. Her studies on the health of leaf bugs in the environs of the nuclear power plants Three Mile Island and Peach Bottom Plant Pennsylvania, USA, 1991, as well as Krümmel and Stade in Germany, 1995, and Gundremmingen, 2002. In 1997 she studies leaf bugs in the environs of the nuclear test area in Nevada and Utah, USA, and 1998 around Hanford nuclear factories. The exhibition ‘After Chernobyl’ toured Europe and Canada from 1992 until 1999. Since 1994 she has undertaken cooperative work with Locus+, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK, who organized the exhibition and book ‘The Future’s Mirror’. In 1998 her book called ‘Heteroptera’ came out with the German publisher Zweitausendeins and 2003 with the publisher Steidl. The English version appeared at Scalo Zürich 2003. In 2016 she published „Die Macht der schwachen Strahlung“. Since 1986 Cornelia Hesse-Honegger began working with the silk manufacturer ‘Fabric Frontline’ Zürich, for whom she created 75 designs which were very successful and with which she could pay all her research.
Kubisch Christina Kubisch (DE), born in Bremen in 1948, has studied painting, composition and electronic music in Hamburg, Graz,Zurich and Milan. Besides her work as a sound artist she has produced numerous  electroacoustic and instrumental compositions and audio works for radio. The artist has received many international awards, grants and residencies. Her work has been shown worldwide since 1974. Christina Kubisch belongs to the first generation of sound artists. She has artistically developed such techniques as magnetic induction to realize her installations.  Christina Kubisch’s work displays an artistic development which is often described as “synthesis of arts” –   the discovery of acoustic space and the dimension of time in the visual arts on one hand, and a redefinition of relationships between material and form in music on the other.
Kimyonghun Shinseungback Kimyonghun (KR) is a Seoul based artistic duo consisting of engineer Shin Seung Back and artist Kim Yong Hun. Their collaborative practice explores technology’s impact on humanity. Shin Seung Back studied Computer Science in Yonsei University and Kim Yong Hun completed a Bachelor of Visual Arts at the Sydney College of the Arts. They met while studying at the Graduate School of Culture Technology in the KAIST and after completing Masters in Science and Engineering, they started to work as Shinseungback Kimyonghun in 2012. Their work has been presented extensively, including Ars Electronica Festival, Vienna Biennale, the ZKM and MMCA Korea.
monte Isaac Monté (BE) has a fascination for unusual materials and an urge to master and manipulate these materials. He is a Belgian designer based in Rotterdam, The Netherlands and studied at art academies in Belgium, The Netherlands and Norway. His interest in product design developed at Willem de Kooning Academy in Rotterdam, where he graduated as product designer in 2013. The work of Isaac Monté has been shown in a variety of galleries and exhibitions in Belgium, The Netherlands, Italy and Germany. Isaac is lecturing and leading workshops in various institutions, from the industry (IKEA) to art academies. Monté was awarded The Threshold Price as most talented graduate in 2013, with his project “Filter Factory”. In 2014 he was awarded the Henri Winkelman Award for young creative entrepreneurs in Rotterdam. And in 2015 he was announced as one of the recipients of the Bio Art and Design Awards. This award gave him the opportunity to design “The Art of Deception” in collaboration with Toby Kiers, Professor in Evolutionary Biology at the Free University in Amsterdam.
Quadrature Quadrature (DE): Quadrature’s artistic exploration gravitates towards scientific interests and physical experiments, using new technologies or academic research as inspiration and material. They all share a love for machines and outer space. The members Juliane Götz, Sebastian Neitsch and Jan Bernstein (until 2016) have received multiple prizes and grants, including a Residency and Award by the European Digital Art and Science network in collaboration with ESO, an honorary mention at the Prix Ars Electronica, an Artist-in-Residency at Akademie Schloss Solitude as well as a working grant by Kunstfond Bonn. Their work has been presented internationally, for example at Künstlerhaus Wien, International Digital Arts Biennial in Montreal or The Modern Art Museum Santralistanbul in Istanbul.
Rozin Daniel Rozin (IL) is an artist, educator and developer working in the area of interactive digital art. As an interactive artist Rozin creates installations and sculptures that have the unique ability to change and respond to the presence and point of view of the viewer. In many cases the viewer becomes the contents of the piece and in others the viewer is invited to take an active role in the creation of the piece. Though computers are often used in Rozin’s work, they are seldom visible. As an educator, Rozin is Associate Art Professor at ITP, Tisch School Of The Arts, NYU. Rozin lives and works in New York. His work has been exhibited widely with solo exhibitions in the US and internationally, featured in many publications and earned him numerous awards.
Sigman / Sardón Mariano Sardón (AR) was born in Argentina, he is professor and chair of the Electronic Art Department at the Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero. From 2004 to 2013 he worked as an academic advisor in the interactive art programme at Espacio Fundación Telefónica Argentina. He studied physics at the Universidad de Buenos Aires and was a visiting scholar in the Theatre, Film and TV Department at the University of California Los Angeles. Mariano Sardón is an internationally acclaimed artist and Prix Ars Electronica jury member.

Mariano Sigman (AR) was born in Argentina. He received a master’s degree in physics from the University of Buenos Aires and a PhD in neuroscience in New York. He moved to Paris to conduct research on decision making, cognitive architecture, and consciousness. In 2006 he founded the Integrative Neuroscience Laboratory at the University of Buenos Aires, an interdisciplinary group consisting of physicists, psychologists, biologists, engineers, educational scientists, linguists, mathematicians, artists, and computer scientists. His lab has developed an empirical and theoretical approach to decision making, with a special focus on understanding the construction of confidence and subjective beliefs. Recently, he has progressively shifted his research to understand how current knowledge of the brain and the mind may serve to improve educational practice.

Smrekar Maja Smrekar (SI) was born 1978 in Slovenia. In 2005 she graduated at the Sculpture Department of Fine Art and Design Academy in collaboration with the Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television in Ljubljana, Slovenia, and holds Master of Arts in New Media since 2016. She has been awarded for her work at the Cynetart festival 2012 by the European Centre for Arts Hellerau (Dresden/Germany) with the 1st prize, Honorary mention at the Ars Electronica Festival 2013 (Linz/Austria), Golden Bird Award 2013 – the national award for special achivements at the field of visual art by the Liberal Academy (Ljubljana/Slovenia) and Prix Ars Electronica 2017 – Golden Nica by the Ars Electronica (Linz/Austria). Maja Smrekar lives and works between Ljubljana, Slovenia and Berlin, Germany.
Yanamaka Yamanaka Laboratory (JP): Prof. Yamanaka, a world-leading design engineer, established his laboratory at Keio University in 2008. He also built the Prototyping & Design Laboratory at the University of Tokyo in 2013. His objective is to investigate the role of prototypes through deeper fundamental research and to establish a method for supporting the socialization of advanced technology. Another aim is to foster a new type of design engineer who can contribute to the emerging interface between technology and aesthetic sensibilities.

Ars Electronica in Berlin 2017 | KünstlerInnen

Akamatsu Nelo Akamatsu (JP): Der japanische Künstler Nelo Akamatsu bedient sich verschiedener künstlerischer Medien und Formate, wie z. B. multimedialer und performativer Installationen, Videoinstallationen, Skulpturen, Gemälde und Fotografien. 2005 schloss er sein Kunststudium an der Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music im Fachbereich Intermediale Kunst ab. Nelo Akamatsu ist Preisträger der Golden Nica des Prix Ars Electronica 2015 in der Kategorie Digital Musics and Sound Art und seine Ausstellungsbeteiligungen sind international angefragt.
Akten Memo Akten (TR/UK) forscht künstlerisch und wissenschaftlich an Formen der Datenverarbeitung und ist im Besonderen an Kollisionen von Natur, Wissenschaft, Technologie, Ethik, Ritual, Tradition und Religion interessiert. Durch die Kombination kritischer und konzeptueller Ansätze bezüglich Form, Bewegung und Ton schafft er „Daten Dramen“ natürlicher und anthropogener Prozesse. Neben seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Memo Akten an seiner Promotion an der Goldsmiths University of London zu den Themen Künstliche Intelligenz und Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion. Seine Arbeiten wurden international gezeigt und aufgeführt und werden in Büchern und wissenschaftlichen Aufsätzen zitiert. Im Jahr 2013 erhielt er die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Computer Animation / Film / VFX des Prix Ars Electronica für die Arbeit „Forms“, eine Kollaboration mit dem Künstler Quayola.
exonemo Exonemo (JP): 1996 gründeten Akaiwa Yea und Sembo Kensuke das Künstlerduo Exonemo. Ihre experimentellen Projekte sind humorvolle und innovative Erforschungen der Paradoxa des digitalen und analogen Lebens, Computernetzwerke und materieller Umwelt. Exonemo gewann die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Net Vision beim Prix Ars Electronica im Jahr 2006. Das Duo organisiert seit 2012 auch die Treffen des Künstlerkollektivs Secret Society IDPW und des Internet-Schwarzmarktes „Internet Yami-Ichi“.
Goto Akinori Goto (JP): Der Künstler und Designer Akinori Goto wurde 1984 in Japan geboren und lebt in Tokio. Er studierte Kommunikationsdesign an der Musashino Art University. Goto verbindet neueste Technologien mit klassischen Methoden und Medien und schafft so neue Ausdrucksformen. Er widmet sich der Dechiffrierung unsichtbarer Verbindungen und Beziehungen hinter Menschen und Objekten, die er aus einer Vielzahl von Perspektiven betrachtet. Für seine Arbeit hat er zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten.
Van Herpen Iris van Herpen (NL), geboren 1984, ist  Modeschöpferin. Sie studierte Modedesign an der ArtEZ Akademie für Bildende Künste Arnhem und absolvierte Praktika bei Alexander McQueen in London und Claudy Jongstra in Amsterdam. Van Herpen fiel sehr schnell mit ihren bemerkenswerten Modeschauen auf. 2007 gründete sie ihr eigenes Modelabel. Iris van Herpen kreiert Damenkollektionen. Ihre Designs erfordern eine einzigartige Behandlung des Materials oder die Herstellung völlig neuer Materialien. Daher bevorzugt van Herpen interdisziplinäre Forschung und die oft regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit KünstlerInnen aus verschiedensten Disziplinen. Seit Juli 2011 ist sie ein Gastmitglied der renommierten Pariser Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture, die Teil der Fédération Française de la Couture ist. Sie nimmt an internationalen Ausstellungen teil und designt zwei Kollektionen pro Jahr. Ihre Arbeiten wurden mit vielen Preisen sowie in Ausstellungen, Publikationen und mit der erwähnten Gastmitgliedschaft gewürdigt.
Hesse-Honegger Cornelia Hesse-Honegger (CH) wurde 1944 in Zürich geboren. Sie studierte ein Jahr an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und wurde am Zoologischen Institut der Universität Zürich zur wissenschaftlichen Illustratorin ausgebildet. Dort war sie 25 Jahre als freiberufliche Zeichnerin für Genetiker und Taxonomen tätig. Später arbeitete sie auf verschiedenen meeresbiologischen Stationen im Mittelmeer und dem Südpazifik. Nach dem Reaktorunglück in Tschernobyl untersuchte sie in den Jahren 1987-1990 Wanzen und Pflanzen in vom radioaktiven Niederschlag betroffenen Regionen in Schweden und Tschernobyl, sowie im Tessin. 1988 führte sie erstmals Studien mit Wanzen in der Schweiz durch, die im Umfeld von Atomreaktoren leben. 1988 und 1989 veröffentlichte sie die ersten Artikel über deformierte Wanzen und Fruchtfliegen. 1989 und 1999 folgten Studien zum Gesundheitszustand von Wanzen im Umfeld der Wiederaufbereitungsanlagen Sellafield, UK, und La Hague in Frankreich. Später Studien zu Wanzen nahe der Reaktoren Three Mile Island und Peach Bottom Plant in Pennsylvania im Jahr 1991 und Krümmel und Stade sowie Gundremmingen in den Jahren 1995 und 2002. 1997 erforschte sie Wanzen in der Umgebung nuklearer Testgelände in Nevada und Utah, USA, und 1998 in Hanford. Ihre Ausstellung „After Chernobyl“ tourte zwischen 1992 und 1999 durch Europa und Kanada. Seit 1994 arbeitet sie in Kooperation mit der Agentur Locus+, Newcastle upon Tyne, die die Ausstellung und das gleichnamige Buch „The Future’s Mirror“ betreuten. 1998 kam ihr Buch „Heteroptera – Bilder einer mutierenden Welt“ bei Zweitausendeins heraus. Die englische Fassung erschien 2013 im Scalo Verlag, Zürich. 2016 veröffentlichte sie „Die Macht der schwachen Strahlung“. Seit 1986 arbeitet Cornelia Hesse-Honegger mit dem Seidenhersteller „Fabric Frontline“ aus Zürich, für den sie 75 Designs entwarf, die sich erfolgreich verkauften. So konnte sie ihre wissenschaftliche Arbeit finanzieren.
Kubisch Christina Kubisch (DE), 1948 in Bremen geboren, studierte Malerei, Komposition und Elektronische Musik in Hamburg, Graz, Zürich und Mailand. Neben Ihrer Arbeit als Klangkünstlerin komponierte sie elektroakustische und instrumentelle Stücke, Audioarbeiten und Radioproduktionen. Die Künstlerin wurde mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und erhielt verschiedene Arbeits- und Residenzstipendien. Christina Kubisch ist eine der Pionierinnen der Klangkunst und setzte in ihren Installationen Techniken wie die Induktion künstlerisch ein. An ihrem Werk lässt sich eine künstlerische Entwicklung aufzeigen, die häufig als „Synthese der Künste“ beschrieben wird – die Entdeckung des Klangraumes und der Dimension der Zeit in den visuellen Künsten einerseits und die Neubestimmung des Verhältnisses von Material und Form in der Musik andererseits.
Kimyonghun Shinseungback Kimyonghun (KR) ist ein in Seoul (Republik Korea) ansässiges Künstlerduo. Der Informatiker Shin Seung Back und der Künstler Kim Yong Hun widmen sich der Erforschung des Einflusses der Technologie auf den Menschen. Shin Seung Back studierte Informatik an der Yonsei University und Kim Yong Hun absolvierte einen Bachelor of Visual Arts am Sydney College of the Arts. Sie lernten sich an der „Graduate School of Culture Technology“ an der koreanischen Universität KAIST kennen. Nach Beendigung des Graduiertenkollegs 2012 begannen die beiden, als Künstlerduo Shinseungback Kimyonghun zusammenzuarbeiten. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem auf der Ars Electronica, auf der Vienna Biennale, im ZKM und im MMCA Korea gezeigt.
monte Isaac Monté (BE) hat eine Faszination für außergewöhnliche Materialien und den starken Drang, diese zu beherrschen und zu bearbeiten. Der belgische Designer wohnt und arbeitet in Rotterdam (NL) und studierte an Kunsthochschulen in Belgien, den Niederlanden und Norwegen. Sein Interesse an Produktdesign vertiefte er während seines Studiums an der Willem de Kooning Academy in Rotterdam, wo er 2013 seinen Abschluss als Produktdesigner machte. Isaac Montés Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Galerien und Ausstellungen in Belgien, den Niederlanden, Italien und Deutschland gezeigt. Isaac lehrt in verschiedensten Einrichtungen von Industrie (IKEA) bis hin zur Kunsthochschule. 2013 wurde er für sein Projekt „Filter Factory“ mit dem Threshold Prize als talentiertester Studienabgänger ausgezeichnet. 2014 erhielt er den Henri Winkelman Award für junge kreative Unternehmer in Rotterdam, und 2015 war er einer der Preisträger der Bio Art and Design Awards und erhielt somit die Möglichkeit, zusammen mit Toby Kiers, Professor für Evolutionäre Biologie an der Freien Universität Amsterdam, die Arbeit „The Art of Deception“ zu entwickeln.
Quadrature Quadrature (DE): Das Kollektiv Quadrature widmet sich wissenschaftlichen Fragen und physikalischen Experimenten unter Einbeziehung neuer Technologien und universitärer Forschung als Inspiration und Material. Sie alle verbindet ihre Leidenschaft für Maschinen und das Weltall. Die Mitglieder Juliane Götz, Sebastian Neitsch und Jan Bernstein (bis 2016) wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet, darunter das Stipendium des European Digital Art and Science Networks, das Residenzstipendium der Akademie Schloss Solitude sowie das Arbeitsstipendium des Kunstfonds Bonn. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, so z. B. am Künstlerhaus Wien, auf der International Digital Arts Biennial in Montreal oder im The Modern Art Museum Santralistanbul in Istanbul.
Rozin Daniel Rozin (IL) ist Künstler, Lehrer und Entwickler im Bereich der interaktiven digitalen Kunst. Als interaktiver Künstler erschafft Rozin Skulpturen und Installationen mit der einzigartigen Fähigkeit, auf Anwesenheit und Standpunkt der Betrachter zur reagieren. Mal wird der Zuschauer Teil des Werks, mal kann er zur Entstehung des Werks beitragen. Obwohl Rozin in seinen Arbeiten oft Computer einsetzt, sind diese selten zu sehen. Rozin lehrt im ITP-Programm an der Tisch School of the Arts, New York University als Associate Arts Professor. Er lebt und arbeitet in New York. Seine Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in den USA und weltweit gezeigt, erschienen in vielen Publikationen und wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet.
Sigman / Sardón Mariano Sardón (AR) wurde in Argentinien geboren. Er ist Professor und Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Electronic Art an der Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero. 2004 bis 2013 war er akademischer Berater für das interaktive Kunstprogramm im Espacio Fundación Telefónica Argentina. Er hat Physik an der Universidad de Buenos Aires studiert und war Gastwissenschaftler am Institut für Theater, Film und Fernsehen der University of California in Los Angeles.  Mariano Sardón ist ein international angefragter Künstler und Prix Ars Electronica Jury-Mitglied.

Mariano Sigman (AR) wurde in Argentinien geboren. Er absolvierte einen Masterstudiengang in Physik an der Universidad de Buenos Aires und ein Promotionsstudium der Neurowissenschaften in New York. Er zog nach Paris und beschäftigte sich dort mit Entscheidungsfindung, kognitiver Architektur und dem menschlichen Bewusstsein. Im Jahr 2006 gründete er an der Universidad de Buenos Aires eine Forschungsgemeinschaft für Integrative Neurowissenschaften in der Physiker, Psychologen, Biologen, Ingenieure, Erziehungswissenschaftler, Linguisten, Mathematiker, Künstler und Computerwissenschaftler zusammenarbeiten. Die Gruppe hat einen empirischen und theoretischen Ansatz der Entscheidungsfindung entwickelt, dessen Schwerpunkt auf dem Verstehen von Vertrauen und subjektiver Überzeugung liegt. In jüngerer Vergangenheit widmet sich Sigman vermehrt der Frage, wie das derzeitige Wissen über das menschliche Gehirn und den Verstand die Bildungspraxis verbessern kann.

Smrekar Maja Smrekar (SI) wurde 1978 in Slowenien geboren. 2005 schloss Sie ihr Studium im Bereich Bildhauerei an der Academy of Fine Arts and Design und der Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television in Ljubljana ab. 2016 erhielt sie einen Master of Arts im Bereich Neue Medien. Für ihre Arbeiten hat sie folgende Auszeichnungen erhalten: 1. Platz beim Cynetart Festival des European Centre for Arts Hellerau (Dresden/Germany) 2012, Honorary Mention beim Ars Electronica Festival 2013 (Linz/Austria), Golden Bird Award 2013: die Auszeichnung der Liberal Academy für besondere Errungenschaften auf dem Gebiet der Bildenden Kunst (Ljubljana/Slowenien), Prix Ars Electronica 2017: Goldene Nica der Ars Electronica (Linz/Österreich). Maja Smrekar lebt und arbeitet in Ljubljana und Berlin.
Yanamaka Yamanaka Laboratory (JP): Prof. Yamanaka, ein weltweit führender Designer und Entwicklungsingenieur, gründete sein Laboratorium an der Keio University im Jahr 2008. Er baute auch das Prototyping & Design Laboratory an der Universität Tokio im Jahr 2013. Sein Ziel ist es, die Rolle der Prototypen durch eine tiefere Grundlagenforschung zu untersuchen Eine Methode zur Unterstützung der Sozialisation der fortgeschrittenen Technologie zu etablieren. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, eine neue Art von Ingenieur zu fördern, der zu der aufkommenden Schnittstelle zwischen Technologie und ästhetischen Empfindungen beitragen kann.